RSS

gluten-free chocolate chip cookies

02 Aug

Hello everyone, Anna here with another fabulous guest post 🙂

The story behind these cookies begins with a babysitting job. Four o’clock in the afternoon, warm, sunny day. I took the 3 and 1-year-old I was watching into the backyard to play. When I went to go retrieve my phone from my purse inside I discovered, to my horror, that the backdoor was locked.

At this point I have to add that I admire all adults who manage to remain calm in panic situations to keep  children from freaking out. Maybe I’m over exaggerating, but this felt like a panic situation.

I have never been locked out before, let alone with two small children and no cellular device.

The good news is that I know the next door neighbors (they had previously referred me as a babysitter to their neighbors, whose house I was now locked out of). So, after checking all doors, I grabbed the kids and we marched over to their house where, thank goodness, they were home. After a little explaining, a lot of window checking, and a few phone calls, I finally got the garage door code and was able to get back inside. And right before the pizza man arrived, whew.

As a thank you, I wanted to bake some cookies, which would have to be both gluten-free and nut free (so our delicious gluten-free almond butter chocolate chip cookies weren’t going to cut it).

glutenfree1

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 1/8 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup gluten-free chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or Silpat.

Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.  Set aside.

In a standing mixer, combine butter and brown sugar well until light brown.  Add egg and vanilla and beat until combined.  Slowly add dry ingredients.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Using a tablespoon, drop 12 cookies onto cookie sheet, about 2 inches apart.  Bake for 12-15 minutes.  Cool.

Recipe slightly adapted from about.com.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, each cookie has 7 Points Plus.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2013 in baking, desserts, snacks, vegetarian

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “gluten-free chocolate chip cookies

  1. Beth Aversa

    August 2, 2013 at 3:13 pm

    I love the story and the cookies look wonderful too.

     
  2. jevbert1234

    August 3, 2013 at 1:10 am

    Looks amazing! Great post!

     

Leave a Reply

 
