RSS

thai shrimp cakes

23 Jul

I’m back!  It’s been a long time, but I’m excited to start blogging again and share my favorite recipes.  Last year had a lot of personal ups and downs, as life sometimes does.  And so blogging went on the back burner, so to speak.  And then, like a left-over, got pushed to the back of the refrigerator where it just sat and waited for someone to notice.

Well, I finally noticed!  I noticed that I had gained a bit of weight, partially from not staying invested in the Points Plus program.  I noticed that I felt the need to be creative again.  And I noticed that my youngest had been after me for a year to start blogging again…

“This is great, did you take a picture?’

“Did you blog this yet, Mom?”

“Are you ever going to blog again?”

He was so excited tonight when I plated this shrimp cake and grabbed the camera.  He helped me with the cilantro garnish and kept encouraging me along the way.  This one’s for you Alex, my biggest cheerleader!

And now for the recipe 🙂  I’d never even heard of shrimp cakes before I read about these in the April 2013 edition of Cooking Light.  They turned out almost too good to be true.  A little heat from the Sriracha, a little zestiness from the lime, a little coco-nutty crunch.  Delicious!!  These would also be terrific as an appetizer, just make them into smaller servings.

shrimpcake1

Thai Shrimp Cakes

  • 2/3 cup panko (Japanese bread crumbs), divided
  • 1/4 cup shredded unsweetened dried coconut, divided (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 2 Tbsp. minced green onions
  • 2 Tbsp. finely chopped cilantro
  • 2 tsp. fish sauce
  • 2 tsp. Sriracha sauce
  • 1 1/2 tsp. grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp. lime juice
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 8 oz. peeled and deveined shrimp, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 lime, quartered

Combine 1/3 cup panko and 2 Tbsp. coconut in shallow bowl and set aside.

Combine 1/3 cup panko, 2 Tbsp. coconut, and next eight ingredients in a bowl.  Add shrimp and stir until just combined.  Form into four equal balls.  Roll balls in panko/coconut mixture and press into patty.

Heat nonstick skillet over medium heat.  Add oil.  Add patties and cook about 4 minutes on each side, until shrimp is cooked (turns pink) and patty is nicely browned.  Serve with lime wedge.

Recipe from Cooking Light, April 2013.

Using the Weight Watcher Recipe Builder, each shrimp cake has 4 Points Plus.

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “thai shrimp cakes

  1. marc

    July 23, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    3rd time we have had this. So good!

     
  2. Patty Harper

    July 23, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    Yay!!!!!!! So glad you’re back<3 can't wait to try this.

     
  3. Kristina

    July 23, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    So glad you’re back. I’ve missed your posts.

     
  4. ally

    July 23, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    Welcome back!

     
  5. Jim .

    July 23, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    Welcome back !

    Sent from my iPad

     
  6. Grandfather Alan

    July 24, 2013 at 7:54 am

    Welcome back, I have missed your recipes and blogs.

     
  7. Magen Michaud,

    July 24, 2013 at 8:00 am

    Yay, you are back on line, missed your stories and your great recipes!

     
  8. veronicakaip

    July 24, 2013 at 8:01 am

    WooHoo! From your “other” biggest fan, so glad to see you’re return! Way to encourage, Alex!
    This looks delicious and my kids love seafood….we’ll have to give it a try.

     
  9. veronicakaip

    July 24, 2013 at 8:01 am

    *your return… whoops. 🙂

     
  10. Missy

    July 24, 2013 at 8:35 am

    Can’t wait to try these Kelly. I’ve missed you too!!

     
  11. Monica

    July 26, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    Hooray!!!! So glad you are back to blogging! These sound so good I will have to make them.

     
  12. Mary Lou McKibben

    July 29, 2013 at 11:00 am

    Your recipe for the Crostini and the shrimp cakes sounds mouth -watering. Wish I could make them. We sure could use them around here. I am so tired of the same old same old with little seasoning and NO SALT!!!!! am so looking forward to the neaxt two weekends, the 3rd with the MacGilvra families and on the 10th with the McKibbens. I understand that you and Leigh and kids are coming up to your dad’s on the 4th. Whoopee!!! Am so looking forward to seeing the kids. They grow so fast. My love GiGi/Grandma. (ALm headed down for the noon meal right now. Wish it were for youor table!!!

    ________________________________

     

Leave a Reply

 
