RSS

almond date bites

26 Sep

I will admit it:  I went a little overboard with the Fair food contests,  My first clue was the morning that I made four dozen pumpkin pecan scones in order to achieve four perfectly formed specimens.  As the 48 scones were cooling, my husband asked if he could take a few to work.  I believe my reply was “but I need four for the Fair!” (with a wild look in my eyes).  Marc couldn’t tell if I was serious or joking (for the record, I was serious).

I did let him take a few.

So I had every intention this week of refocusing my culinary efforts on delicious, savory dishes that didn’t include sticks of butter or cups of sugar. Or an entry form and a 9″ diameter paper plate for display.

Well, I came close.  Not quite savory, but a delicious whole food snack that the family will love.  And only 1 PointsPlus per bite!

Almond Date Bites

  • 1 cup pitted, dried Medjool dates
  • 1/2 cup toasted slivered almonds
  • 1/4 tsp. almond extract
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1 Tbsp. grapeseed oil or coconut oil
  • 2 Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened, shredded coconut, toasted
    Place dates, almonds, almond extract, pinch of salt, oil and cocoa powder into a food processor and pulse until well combined.
    Form into 24 balls and roll each in toasted coconut.  Refrigerate.
    Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, each bite has 1 PointsPlus.
    Recipe slightly adapted from EverydayMaven.com.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 26, 2012 in points plus, snacks

 

Tags: ,

One response to “almond date bites

  1. GP Alan

    September 26, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Please include grams of carbohydrate per serving in your recipes for those of us on lo carb no sugar diets. GP Alan

     

Leave a Reply

 
