RSS

chocolate peanut butter pretzel tart

11 Sep

I’ve been bitten by a bug!!  No, I don’t need antibiotic ointment, and no, I don’t need an intervention (just yet).  Buoyed by my first place win of my Mexican Chocolate Biscotti,  I entered the Ghirardelli’s Chocolate Championship at the Puyallup Fair. I decided on a peanut butter cup-like dessert with a trendy pretzel crust.  It was an easy recipe with a ton of chocolate flavor, both of which were part of the grading criteria.  I’m a little worried about my Weight Watcher’s weigh-in, since I’ve made three in the past two days, making sure I had the correct ratio of ingredients (all in the name of science, of course).

In my haste to get out the door to meet the deadline, I forgot to take a “good” picture with my fancy camera.  Here’s a mediocre picture I took on my phone.

Drumroll please…..I placed third!  I won a huge basket of Ghirardelli’s chocolate and a very nice embroidered apron.  No cash prize for third, but I have a giant white ribbon for my trophy case. 🙂

Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel Tart

  • 2 cups crushed pretzels
  • 1/2 cup melted unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 5 ounces Ghirardelli’s semi-sweet chips
  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • additional peanut butter, heated, for decoration
    Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine pretzels, melted butter and sugar in a bowl.  Press into the bottom and sides of a 9 inch tart pan with removable bottom.  Bake for 20 minutes and let cool.
    Combine peanut butter and confectioner’s sugar.  Spread onto the bottom of the cooled crust.
    Heat whipping cream until just before boiling.  Pour over chocolate chips and let stand 2 minutes.  Whisk together thoroughly.  Pour over peanut butter.
    Quickly drizzle melted peanut butter over ganache and swirl with a toothpick.  Refrigerate at least one hour before serving.
 
13 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2012 in baking, desserts

 

Tags: , , , ,

13 responses to “chocolate peanut butter pretzel tart

  1. kayleebakes

    September 11, 2012 at 7:39 am

    Congrats on the win and it looks delicious!

     
    • kelly@dailyhomemade

      September 11, 2012 at 7:45 am

      Thank you! The pretzel crust gives it a yummy sweet/salty taste.

       
    • kelly@dailyhomemade

      September 15, 2012 at 8:12 am

      Thank you! We are having a lot of fun this year at the Fair 🙂

       
  2. Beth Aversa

    September 11, 2012 at 9:11 am

    You Rock!

     
  3. Magen

    September 11, 2012 at 10:06 am

    And how many Weight Watcher points??!!

     
  4. veronicakaip

    September 11, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Wow….you’re unbeatable!! This looks insane. I had to email it to my husband….neither of us should be eating this, but I foresee it happening. Soon. 😀

     
  5. Kristina

    September 12, 2012 at 6:26 am

    Thank you for the “taster” of this dessert. I need an occasion to make it – it is far too lethal just to have sitting around the house! Congratulations on another win.

     
  6. mydearbakes

    September 14, 2012 at 4:59 am

    What a yummy looking post! =)

     
  7. Mary Lou McKibben

    September 14, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    This peanut butter recipe sounds fantastic too. And another ribbon, etc??!!!!!! You are amazing! Grandma Hope you get my replies. I never know if I am clicking on the right keys.

     
  8. veronicakaip

    October 30, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    I made this delicious looking dessert today. We’ll have it tomorrow at our Halloween party….the kids can munch on candy bars and lollipops and us grown ups will partake in this yumminess. 🙂 (Is that selfish?) 😛

     
  9. veronicakaip

    October 30, 2013 at 9:58 pm

    Making this again tonight for our Halloween party tomorrow….it’s a big hit every time I make it!!! I’m slightly addicted to it. Mmmm…..

     

Leave a Reply

 
