RSS

mexican chocolate biscotti

07 Sep

Here’s my entry into the Dillano’s Biscotti Contest at the Puyallup Fair this year.  After weeks of playing around with a fig soaked in port cookie idea (weeks which included a teary statement of “maybe I shouldn’t enter this year.  Isn’t this supposed to be fun?”), I switched gears and decided to do a chocolate biscotti.  I remembered a delicious cookie my step-mom made with cayenne and black pepper, so in it went.  And I had to add the Bob’s Red Mill shredded unsweetened coconut since I am convinced this lends to its wonderful texture.   For the finishing touch I sprinkled Flavorstorm’s Cinnamon Sugar on top….it sparkled!

Oh, and by the way….the judge loved it!  I won the Blue ribbon for the 2nd year in a row!  Is a biscotti cookbook in my future? 🙂  The judge’s comments:  “Wow!  Outstanding work.  Different and tasty.  Real “pop” of flavor with lingering heat.  Thank you!”

I’m pretty sure I let out a little squeal when I saw my cookies in the case.  People may have thought they were in the pig barn.  🙂

Mexican Chocolate Biscotti

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. espresso powder
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 8 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup cinnamon chips (I used King Arthur’s)
  • 1/2 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line baking sheets with silicone pad or parchment paper.

Combine flour through espresso powder in a small bowl and set aside.
In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream butter and sugar.  Add eggs, one at a time, and vanilla extract.  Add flour mixture to butter mixture.  Stir in cinnamon chips, chocolate chips, coconut, black pepper and cayenne pepper.

Form batter into 2 logs, approximately 3 inches wide x 12 inches long.  Smooth top with an off-set spatula and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.

Bake for 20 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool 30 minutes.  Slice on the diagonal and bake an additional 10-12 minutes.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2012 in baking, desserts

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “mexican chocolate biscotti

  1. Beth Aversa

    September 7, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    These look delicious. You definitely are a winner.

     
  2. Veronica

    September 7, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    WooHoo! Nice work!!! 🙂

     
  3. Kristina

    September 8, 2012 at 8:25 am

    congratulations!!

     
  4. Magen

    September 8, 2012 at 8:37 am

    Congratulations for the second year! Now you have a matched set of gigantic ribbons!

     
  5. Tina F-Z

    September 9, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    Way to go Rockstar!!!

     
  6. Mary Lou McKibben

    September 14, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    Grandma: Congratulations. A cookbook of AlLL youor recipes sounds great! How about a second family cookibook, or even a bigger production.? The biscotti sounds so delicious. Now I will check in on the peanut butter pretzels. Your grandpa John would really have loved them! Your mom gave me several recipes using peanut butter to make for him. I bought the biggest jars I could find.

     

Leave a Reply

 
