RSS

mixed greens with miso vinaigrette

02 Aug

I think our chickens have been eavesdropping on our conversations.

Last week I voiced my frustrations about “Bennie” and how she hadn’t layed an egg for 5-6 months.  Marc suggested it was time to get rid of her and get a younger, more reliable, egg layer.  I believe he even made a chopping motion with his hand.

I kid you not, the next day there was Bennie’s light blue egg in the nest.  As soon as I saw it I burst out laughing.

Now I think I’ll mention (loudly) that if the coop doesn’t get cleaned regularly by someone other than me, the chicken’s might have to find another home.  Like my soup pot (an empty promise, but they don’t need to know that).

I made this salad after our first bike ride of the season, and the taste blew me away.  The dressing is delicious!!  I actually used my finger to get every last bit out of the bowl.

Mixed Greens with Miso Vinaigrette

Miso Dressing:

  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tsp. miso paste (I used red miso paste)
  • 3 Tbsp. canola oil

Salad

  • 5 cups mixed greens
  • 1 cup bean sprouts
  • 8 radishes, thinly sliced
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 2 Tbsp. toasted sesame seeds

To make dressing:  whisk together lemon juice and miso paste in a small bowl.  Whisk in oil.

Combine all salad ingredients in a large bowl.  Toss with dressing.  Makes 6, 1 cup servings.

Recipe from Vegetarian Times, September 2012.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, each 1 cup serving has 3 Points Plus.  Divide the salad into 3 servings, and each serving has 5 PointsPlus (oh, the magic of WW math)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 2, 2012 in salads, vegetarian

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
