RSS

breakfast quinoa with berries

30 Jul

I feel like I need to introduce myself…….

🙂

What a summer!  Our trip to Italy was AMAZING!…..

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and renewed our vows:

We walked around Rome, Florence, Orvieto and Venice in 95+ heat, visited family and took in the sights:

and I don’t even know where to begin about the food:

We even found the World’s Cutest Dog, who just happens to be in Orvieto:

So now we are back, the jet-lag is gone, the laundry is done, and I have no other reasons not to resume my blog 🙂

I wanted to break out of my “greek yogurt for breakfast” rut, so I thought I would try this recipe from the July/August 2012 Weight Watchers Magazine.  It was very tasty and filled me up until lunch.  Two very important requirements!

Breakfast Quinoa with Berries

  • 1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk (35 calorie/cup)
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1 cup berries

Pour almond milk into a small saucepan and bring to a low boil.  Add rinsed quinoa and sprinkle of cinnamon.  Cover pan and simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat and let stand 5 minutes.  Top with berries.  Makes 2 servings.

Recipe slightly adapted from Weight Watchers Magazine.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, each serving has 5 PointsPlus.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “breakfast quinoa with berries

  1. DianeD

    July 30, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    Sounds delicious! Will try it tomorrow. I do WW so this is perfect. Your trip sounds amazing.
    DianeD
    MA

     
    • kelly@dailyhomemade

      July 30, 2012 at 2:41 pm

      This recipe has shown me that I actually like quinoa better sweet than savory. Let me know what you think!

       
  2. Kristina

    August 1, 2012 at 8:50 am

    Yay! You’re back online.

     

Leave a Reply

 
