RSS

rhubarb ginger jam

17 Jun

I’d better start saving money for my kid’s therapy.  Last week we had a shoe box lying around the kitchen and I was about to recycle it when my youngest told me he needed it.  He explained that he was going to make a cardboard cat.  “You’ve driven me to this Mom.”  (My limit has been reached with animals in the house/yard, and I am staying firm, despite his begging and pleading).  Well, at least the cardboard kind doesn’t shed.

I have already promised to pay for his therapy when he is an adult, for the psychological damage I am doing to him by pressing on his head, pleading with him not to grow up and to stay little forever.

Good grief.  Just reading that sentence back makes me realize that I am the one who needs therapy.  Which frankly, is not news.

But don’t call me Frank.

My father LOVES ginger, so when I saw this recipe I knew I had to make it for him for Father’s Day.  🙂  It turned out a little more on the sauce-y side, rather than a “jelly” jam, but it is delicious!

Rhubarb Ginger Jam

  • 3 pounds of trimmed rhubarb stalks, cut into 1/2-inch pieces 
  • 3 cups granulated sugar 
  • 1/4 cup crystallized ginger, finely chopped 
  • 1/4 cup grated fresh ginger

Combine the rhubarb,crystallized ginger, grated ginger, and sugar in a large saucepan. Stir over medium-high heat until the sugar dissolves and the mixture begins to bubble. Reduce the heat to medium and simmer, stirring frequently, until jam thickens. Maintain a steady simmer and stir often while it thickens to prevent scorching. Cook for about 20 to 25 minutes, skimming and discarding the foam that collects on the top of the mixture.

After 20 minutes, test for doneness. Place a small spoonful of jam on a plate and place the plate in the freezer for 35-45 seconds. Remove the plate and run your finger over the top of the jam. The surface should “wrinkle” in your finger’s wake.  When it does, the jam is done.

Ladle the mixture into hot, sterilized jars leaving about 1/4-inch of space at the top.  Process the jars for 10 minutes in a hot water bath.  Makes 3 pint size jars (6 cups total).

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, each 1/4 cup serving has 1 PointsPlus (I even ran the numbers twice!!)

Recipe from KitchenDaily.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “rhubarb ginger jam

  1. Grandfather Alan

    June 26, 2012 at 9:44 am

    WOW my granddaughter has many talents!

     

Leave a Reply

 
