RSS

cauliflower and cheese soup

17 May

Yesterday my 5th grader’s teacher sent home a sample of our son’s writing for us to read. As Alex read it aloud my jaw hit the floor.  I’ve always dreamed of becoming an author, but I think someone else in the family has more of a gift than I do:

(He was given a picture of a shipwreck and 10 minutes to write an expository paragraph);

As I walk barefoot on the beach, I discover the rusty bow of a modern ship.  When I go closer for further          inspection, I find it corroded by the pounding of the tides, with a few shattered remains of the stern, splayed across the beach from when the water receded.  I decide to go get some swimwear on so I can go inside the ship.  Fishing nets are strewn across the ground, with rusty crab traps littering the bow.  The pungent smell of dead sea animals floods my nose, and I decide to head into the Captain’s room.  There I find the name of the ship, The S.S. Skipper, along with some personal belongings.  There was something strange about this ship, and with that feeling still haunting me, I left it without seeing the blood splattered in the captain’s room.

I still can’t believe a 10-year-old wrote this.  I loved “swimwear” and the use of “pungent”.  Are there writing summer camps?  We must harness this power for good, not evil!

p.s. After he read it out loud, he looked at me and asked “Mom, is this blog-worthy?”.  Yes, indeed Sweetie, it is.

And so is this cauliflower and cheese soup!

Cauliflower and Cheese Soup

  • 3 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 1 medium onion, diced small
  • 1 head cauliflower, trimmed and cut into 1 1/2 inch pieces
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 5 1/2 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, grated
  • salt and pepper
  • cayenne pepper for garnish

In a large pot, melt butter over medium heat.  Add onions and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 8 minutes.  Add cauliflower and cook until just beginning to brown, about 5 more minutes.  Add broth and water, bring to boil.  Reduce heat and simmer until cauliflower is tender, about 15-20 minutes.  Using an immersion blender, process until smooth (or use blender, making sure to vent steam to prevent splashes and burns).

Add cheese to soup and stir until melted.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Garnish with a sprinkle of cayenne.  Makes 10 cups (6 servings of 1 1/3 cups each).

Recipe from Everyday Foods.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, each serving has 6 PointsPlus.

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “cauliflower and cheese soup

  1. Leigh

    May 17, 2012 at 7:40 am

    I have always wanted to be an author as well! Looks like it comes very naturally to Alex. Joe said he must have had help, I assured him, no, he is just that special!! Oh- and the soup looks great, too!

     
  2. Shannon.Kennedy

    May 17, 2012 at 8:35 am

    You have an amazingly talented little boy!

     
  3. Linda R.

    May 22, 2012 at 10:13 am

    This soup is souper tasty!!! Tried it last night and it was a hit (we put Sirancha in it while it was simmering). We had a salad with it and it made for an awesome meal…YUM!

     
  4. veronicakaip

    July 1, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    Ohmygosh, seriously, Cam is my writer, too!! Her teacher pulled me into class to show me something they had written to prepare for the MSP. Bummer I couldn’t keep it! These two could write their own book series…..

     
  5. Beth Aversa

    December 5, 2013 at 5:55 pm

    I just made this for our friend Barbara Boston. We had it with as salad. What a delicious meal. A perfect end to our last day in DC.

     

Leave a Reply

 
