RSS

sweet potato soup with quinoa and coconut milk

23 Mar

Why did I pick this week to decrease my caffeine intake?  I have been enjoying 5 (don’t tell Marc) cups of coffee and a diet soda every day for as long as I can remember.  Which actually isn’t saying much, since my memory seems to be on a decline.  I have repeatedly asked my physician husband if I/we should be concerned.  He replies “no, but the next time I tell you that you already told me something, believe me!”

Anyway, I decreased to two cups and no soda two days ago and my headache today was asking me “why?!?  My tailbone was also asking my why I forgot to take naproxen, but that’s another story 🙂

As I was lamenting to my cousin about the withdrawals, he suggested that I could always switch to chocolate.  Evil, evil cousin.

This soup seems like a great antidote to my chemical dependency on caffeine.  Packed with vitamins from the sweet potato, creamy from the coconut milk and protein-rich from the quinoa.  I feel healthier already!

Sweet Potato Soup with Quinoa and Coconut Milk

  • 1 lb. sweet potatoes, peeled and diced small
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 Tbsp. water
  • 1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed and drained
  • 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup lite coconut milk
  • 1/4 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

Place sweet potatoes in a saucepan and cover with water.  Bring to boil.  Cover, reduce heat to maintain a simmer and cook until the sweet potatoes are fully cooked but don’t break apart.

In a large part, saute the onion in the water until soft, about 5 minutes.  Add the quinoa and broth, cover and bring to a boil.  Lower the heat and simmer until quinoa is cooked, about 15 minutes.

Using a slotted spoon, transfer sweet potatoes to pot with quinoa.  With an immersion blender, partially blend to thicken soup.  Leave some sweet potato pieces whole.  Stir in the coconut milk and spices.  Taste and season with salt and pepper.  Makes 7 cups (5 servings).

Recipe from A Veggie Venture.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, each 11 oz. serving has 5 PointsPlus.

Using the Simply Filling Technique, each serving has 1 PointsPlus.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
