RSS

avgolemono

19 Mar

Good news on the dog fostering front.  Anna took Pablo to an adoption fair over the weekend and it looks like he has found himself a permanent home!  We have enjoyed him for 2 weeks and he will make a great addition to a lucky family.  If all goes well, he will go his new home on Tuesday.

I have seen this soup on most Greek restaurant menus and have always wanted to try it.   But then the dolmas and spanikopitas speak louder to me (yes, my food talks to me) and I never order it.  Probably a good thing, because I usually make things better at home anyways (yes, I am tooting my own horn).  Oh, it’s so, so good.  A lemony, chicken with rice soup, made creamy with the addition of a whisked-in egg and brightened with a sprinkling of basil and parsley. Yummy!

Avgolemono

  • 2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 6 1/2 cups fat-free, lower sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup uncooked long-grain rice
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tsp. cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground pepper
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups shredded cooked chicken breast (8 oz)
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 Tbsp. torn fresh basil

 Heat a soup pot over medium-high heat.  Add oil to pan and swirl to coat.  Add onion and garlic and saute 2 minutes.  Add chicken broth, bring to boil.  Stir in rice; reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes.  Combine juice, cornstarch, salt, pepper and egg in a small bowl.  Slowly pour egg into broth, stirring constantly with a whisk.  Add chicken to broth mixture; cook until soup thickens and rice is done (about 5 minutes).  Top with parsley and basil.  Makes 4 servings (1 1/2 cups each).

Recipe from Cooking Light Magazine, Jan/Feb 2012.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder and the recipes stats, each 1 1/2 cup serving has 5 PointsPlus.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2012 in chicken, points plus, soups

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “avgolemono

  1. David McKibben aka Dad

    March 19, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    Kelly, (my oldest),
    Here on Maui. I had verything but the chicken stock. I have that now. Minimal on the basil plant out front, but plenty of fresh picked parsley. Got the broth and all the partners in the pot. Did a couple of chicken breasts on low on foil on the BBQ while watching the Humpbacks. Shredded that. I looked up the soup on the web and see a few variations. I am adding two eggs and twice the corn starch because at 67 I don’t count the same as you. I probably should, but hey I’m on vacation. Actually, I am just doing the same thing I always do as a retiree, just at a different location. Looking forward to putting it all together and will report back soon.

     
    • kelly@dailyhomemade

      March 19, 2012 at 8:07 pm

      Let me know how it turns out! 🙂 I’m trying not to be jealous about cooking dinner while watching whales breach out on the horizon.

       
  2. David McKibben aka Dad

    March 19, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    This is a hit. We had a friend over that thought it was incredible. So I took a small bowl to one of our neighors and she wanted to hire me. I told her I don’t do windows and that took care of that.

    Lovely soup. Thank you Kelly.

     
  3. Beth Aversa

    March 20, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    This is a super easy and delicious soup. I poached my chicken breast in the microwave for 8 minute, chopped the onions & garlic, squeezed the lemons and put it all together. In the middle of all of this I ran out to take my car to my son-in-law who had a fender bender on the way home from work so he & Isabel can go to the Husky Basketball game this evening. Isabel is looking forward to the soup as breakfast in the morning.

     

Leave a Reply

 
