RSS

pumpkin oatmeal dog biscuits

04 Mar

I’m not sure if you saw the election results over the weekend, but I won “Mother of the Year Award”!  I’d like to take this opportunity to thank all the people who have helped me get to this point……wait, where’s my tiara? and where’s my sash?

My daughter Anna, the aspiring vet and dog fanatic, recently completed training at the Tacoma Humane Society so she can volunteer in the kennels. She also, after much begging on her part, completed the “Dog Foster” training, which means we can now open our home to shelter dogs who need a break from the kennels until they are adopted. Mainly, I don’t want her saying in vet school “well, I never had a dog…but I’ve wanted to work with them my whole life.” Which, coincidentally enough, was how we started down this doggy road with our Westie, Charles.

Enter Pablo, a.k.a. Dewey (since we hated the name Pablo and we adore the show Malcolm in the Middle). He is a year and a half Pit Bull Terrier mix who was lucky enough to land in our house because our female Cattle Dog would tolerate him. Sorry, Dudley!

It says something when a shelter dog is better behaved than your own dogs. He is calm, easy-going, knows “shake”, and is basically a big softie. It goes to show that Pit Bull profiling is unfortunate; it’s not the breed that deserves the bad rep, just the idiots that train them to be overly aggressive.

But I’ll step off of my soap box. Dewey hasn’t been eating at the shelter and has been having some…intestinal difficulties. An employee of our local pet store recommended this recipe as a cure. Super easy to make, and our dog pack loves them.

Dog Biscuits

  • 3 1/2 cups old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Combine all ingredients by hand or with a KitchenAid.  Form into patties or desired shapes (they don’t really spread during baking).  Bake 12-15 minutes.  Let cool.  Freeze for long-term storage.  Unfrozen cookies should be refrigerated and used within 4 days. They can be served frozen or straight out of the fridge.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2012 in baking, dog treats

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “pumpkin oatmeal dog biscuits

  1. Skipping Stars Productions LLC

    March 6, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    Reblogged this on Man's Best Friends.

     
  2. veronicakaip

    March 11, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    ………but how many points are they????……

    😀

     
  3. Debby

    October 13, 2012 at 7:46 am

    I want to make these pumpkin oatmeal dog biscuits today. I know this is a dumb question but do you cook the oatmeal first? I’m new to this and don’t want to mess them up.
    Thank you,

     
  4. Heather

    December 11, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    My dogs LOVE LOVE LOVE these!!!! And they’re super easy to make… Thank you for the fantastic recipe!

     
  5. Jeanna

    October 20, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    Made a double batch this afternoon. I have 3 golden Retreivers so after the first batched cooled we gave them a try. Well you would of thought it was Christmas. They each had one cookie with my 16 year old golden savoring hers. They was so easy to make and bake. I left out over 2 dozen and have froze about the same. Could not ask for a easier recipe and I know what they are made out of. Thanks for sharing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
