RSS

quinoa edamame salad

29 Feb

Our tickets have been purchased, so it’s finally feeling real….we are spending three weeks this summer in Italy!!  Marc and I are excited to return (we last went when Anna was 5 months old, back in 1996).  This time we will be traveling with my in-laws and our darling niece Isabel.  My father-in-law Guido grew up in Italy and moved to the U.S. when he was 26, so we have lots of family to visit.  We’ll be staying in Rome, Orvieto and Venice, making day trips to Pisa, Florence and the coast. 

The food in Italy is going to be fantastic….and I’m going to want to try it all!  So it’s time (again!) to batten down the hatches and get to goal (or even a few pounds lower 🙂 ) to prepare for the trip.

I’m starting to make big batches of grain or legume based salads on Sundays for good lunch/snack options throughout the week.  This recipe was forwarded to me by my friend Kristina and its wonderful!  I felt healthier just looking at it.

Quinoa Edamame Salad

  • 2 cups frozen, shelled edamame
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 cup cooked, cooled quinoa
  • 3 green onions, sliced (just the green parts)
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp. lime juice
  • 1/4 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp. thyme
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • freshly ground pepper
  • dash cayenne pepper

Boil frozen edamame and corn briefly to thaw.  Drain thoroughly.

In a large bowl, combine quinoa, cooled edamame, corn, red pepper, green onions, cilantro.

In a small bowl combine oil, lemon and lime juice, chili powder, thyme, salt, pepper and cayenne.  Mix well to combine and pour over quinoa mixture.  Stir well.  Makes 4 cups.

Recipe slightly adapted from eatingwelllivingthin.wordpress.com.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, each 1 cup serving has 6 PointsPlus.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 29, 2012 in points plus, salads, vegetarian

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “quinoa edamame salad

  1. Ed Pullen

    February 29, 2012 at 7:12 am

    Great news on the trip. Enjoy

     
  2. veronicakaip

    March 11, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    Oh, I am most envious…but glad for you!!! I was born in Italy (Brindisi), but sadly, I have no memories of it. I’d love to go with my family – they lived there for several years and could be my personal tour guide. One day I will go back “home” again. 🙂 Maybe, oh maybe, you could post a pic or two?!? 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
