RSS

vegetarian black-bean chili

24 Feb

I can’t believe it’s already Lent!  Wasn’t it just Christmas???

I can’t believe my daughter is registering for her Junior year of high school!  Didn’t she just graduate from eighth grade???

I can’t believe my 13-year-old just finished the new box of cereal!  Didn’t I just buy it this morning???

Soup continues to be my go-to meal around here.  This one came together in less than 30 minutes, which is great when life is speeding by.  The kids ate it with shredded cheese and tortilla chips on the side.  I just added a dollop of 0% Fage greek yogurt.  Vegetarian black-bean chili would be a great addition to your meatless Fridays in Lent.

Vegetarian Black-Bean Chili

    • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
    • 1 small onion, diced
    • 2 garlic cloves, minced
    • salt and pepper
    • 2 zucchini, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced crosswise
    • 2 carrots, thinly sliced
    • 1 Tbsp. chili powder
    • 1 tsp. cumin
    • 2 cans black beans, rinsed and drained
    • 1 can (28 ounces) crushed tomatoes
    • 1 package (10 ounces) frozen corn kernels, thawed

In a large pot, heat oil over medium-high heat.  Add onion and garlic and cook, stirring occasionally, until beginning to soften, about 4 minutes.

Add zucchini, carrots, chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until carrots are crisp-tender, 6 to 8 minutes.  Add beans, tomatoes, corn and 1 cup water.  Simmer until slightly thickened and carrots are soft, 8 to 10 minutes more.  Serves 6.

Recipe from marthastewart.com.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder:

6 servings= 6 PointsPlus

Using the Simply Filling Technique, each serving has 1 PointsPlus.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2012 in points plus, soups, vegetarian

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “vegetarian black-bean chili

  1. terriskitchenuk

    February 26, 2012 at 8:52 am

    This would be great to have handy for a quick lunch. I’d have to put some meat into it…hubby wouldn’t eat it without it.

    Also letting you know that I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Have fun!
    http://versatilebloggeraward.wordpress.com/

    Terri

     
  2. terriskitchenuk

    February 27, 2012 at 6:24 am

    Hi, sorry if this is a repeat of a comment, but I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! I was nominated so I’m passing on the blogging love! (It seems all the comments I left yesterday on the nominees are not showing up, so I’m commenting again). Go to my post for the VBA and click on the green badge. Have fun!

     
  3. Mary

    September 14, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    It is super low calorie so I added some sour cream for the kids. Super tasty. I have made this recipe several times and i gotta say, it’s one of my favorites.

     

Leave a Reply

 
