RSS

neapolitan meatballs and sauce

26 Jan

I made this by candlelight last week when the power was out.  Oh, yes, I know how to rough it 🙂

Sometimes I wonder if I’m giving my children a skewed view on food with the importance I put on quality, homemade meals (and then I quickly get over it).  We’ve joked with my daughter that when she goes off to college we will have to send her care packages of artisan cheeses and homemade bagels.  It will probably be hard for her to go cold turkey from home-cooked meals (or maybe this has been my plan all along to make sure she comes home frequently!)

This recipe was given to me by my mother-in-law.  Previously, I posted a different, “lighter” spaghetti and meatball recipe.  In reality, there is only 1 Weight Watcher Points Plus difference between the two recipes.  The other recipe uses a package of chopped spinach in the meatballs, so it would be a great way to incorporate more vegetables into your children’s diet if this is an issue in your house.

Neapolitan Meatballs and Sauce

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 lb. lean ground beef
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. oregano
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 32 ounce can whole tomatoes, blended

In a medium bowl, combine ground beef, oregano, breadcrumbs, and egg.  Season with salt and pepper.  Form into meatballs.

Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Add onions and garlic and saute until golden.  Add meatballs to skillet and brown on all sides.  Add tomatoes and cook at a low simmer until thick, about an hour, occasionally gently stirring.  Makes 5 servings.

Serve over penne or rigatoni.  Top with grated romano or parmesan cheese.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, each serving of meatballs/sauce has 6 Points Plus (pasta and cheese not included).

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 26, 2012 in beef, pasta, points plus

 

Tags: ,

One response to “neapolitan meatballs and sauce

  1. Beth Aversa

    January 26, 2012 at 7:14 am

    This is a delicious meal and one that I have made ever since my dear friend, Joanne Polumbo gave me the recipe over forty years ago when my husband was an intern in Johnson City NY. Joanne was taught this recipe by her mother-in-law, who lived outside of Naples, Italy. I find it a perfect meal on a cold winter’s night.

     

Leave a Reply

 
