RSS

peanut butter caramel corn

19 Jan

Snow days are wreaking havoc with my diet, lifestyle, daily intake of food.

But it all comes down to the children, right?  My daughter had a friend over to work on a school project and I thought, wouldn’t it be nice if I made them a delicious treat?  I made a batch of PB2 brownies, which were, in my daughter’s words “spongy”, and they went right into the garbage.  She thought I should have made PB2 chocolate chip bar cookies, but I explained to her that I needed to try a different recipe for my blog.  So I pulled this recipe out of my ‘to do” folder.

Yum, yum, yum.  Super easy and delicious.  Better than anything you can buy at a store!  Omit the peanut butter and almonds to make plain caramel corn (although there really isn’t anything plain about this treat!)

Peanut Butter Caramel Corn

  • 2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup unpopped popcorn kernels
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup light corn syrup
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • cooking spray

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.  Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone baking mat.  Spray lightly with cooking spray.

Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat.  Add popcorn and cook, shaking pan while corn pops.  When done, remove from heat and stir in almonds.

Combine sugar, syrup, butter, and salt in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil.  Cook 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat and stir in peanut butter and vanilla.  Drizzle over popcorn and toss well.  Spread mixture out onto pan and bake for one hour, stirring every 15 minutes.  Cool completely.

Recipe from Cooking Light, October 2011.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, I calculated the entire recipe having 88 PointsPlus. (Yikes!)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2012 in points plus, snacks

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
