RSS

tuna patties

12 Jan

I recently received our health insurance quarterly magazine in the mail.  The article entitled “Eat Well When You Eat Out” caught my eye, but my jaw dropped with the first sentence. “One recent survey of dining behavior found that Americans eat five meals a week in restaurants”.  Wow.  If that’s an average, what’s life like for the other half?

Now, I do love my Pho.  I can walk into my favorite Pho restaurant and they ask “number 6?”.

“Why, yes, thank you very much.”

But something is being lost if we think cooking at home is too difficult/ time-consuming/ overwhelming.  It doesn’t have to be a gourmet meal every day of the week (if you only knew how long it has taken me to realize this!).  Sitting down around the family table, everyone eating the same home cooked meal should be the foundation of family life.

These patties are quick, easy, budget friendly, and versatile.  Put them on a bun or english muffin.  Top with cheese or tomato slice.  Serve with a cup of soup.  In the time it takes you to load up the car, drive to the fast food restaurant and come home, you could have made these and saved a ton of money and excess calories and sodium.

Tuna Patties

  • 12 ounces water-packed tuna, drained and flaked
  • 2 slices whole-wheat bread, toasted and made into crumbs
  • 3 scallions, chopped or 1/4 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped drained pimentos
  • 1/2 cup egg substitute
  • 2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • Misto filled with olive oil

Combine the tuna, bread crumbs, scallions, pimentos, egg substitute, Worcestershire sauce, and salt in a medium bowl.  Shape into 4 patties.

Spray a pan with the Misto, heat to medium.  Add patties and cook until golden brown on each side, about 8 minutes total.

Recipe from Weight Watchers.  4 Points Plus per patty.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2012 in points plus, seafood

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “tuna patties

  1. veronicakaip

    January 12, 2012 at 7:03 am

    It broke my heart a couple years ago when one of the teachers in my building was doing a reading lesson, and as part of the lesson asked the kids how many of them regularly sit around the table for dinner time. One. One student raised her hand. So sad……

    These look good and my daughter loves tuna, so we might just give this a try pretty soon.
    This is totally being posted on the wrong page, but I hopped on here to get the peanut-butter and banana muffin recipe………again. I think I’ve made it probably 6 or 7 times. 🙂 I thought I’d whip some up real quick before heading off to school.

     
  2. terriskitchenuk

    January 20, 2012 at 6:11 am

    These look interesting and even seem to be South Beach Friendly! I will have to give these a try next week.

     

Leave a Reply

 
