RSS

spaghetti squash with almonds

09 Jan

I’ve never been drawn to spaghetti squash.  I love acorn and butternut, but haven’t been a fan of the spaghetti.  My aversion might stem from a dinner many years ago, when as a newlywed, I tried to cook it.  Epic fail.  Looking back, I’m not sure what I did to it, since it is the easiest thing to make.  But I have lots of “epic fail” newlywed stories, as I’m sure many of you do.  I will never again serve my husband shepherd’s pie, nor will I try to fry a steak in grease (we both have the memories, and I have the fading scar on my forearm to prove that I attempted it.  But neither one of us remembers why I thought that would be a good cooking technique).

This recipe definitely makes me a convert to spaghetti squash.  The lime dressing is delicious and I love how the toasted almonds give it a little crunch.  Next recipe to tackle is the use of spaghetti squash as a pasta substitute, but don’t tell my Italian husband.

p.s. this picture was taken before my new and improved lighting set-up 🙂

Spaghetti Squash with Almonds

  • 6 cups cooked spaghetti squash
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh lime juice
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 4 green onions, thinly sliced
  • Miso filled with olive oil

To roast the spaghetti squash:  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Halve the squash lengthwise and remove the seeds.  Using a Misto, spray with olive oil and place the squash cut-side down on a baking sheet.  Roast until tender, 40 to 50 minutes.  Alternatively, you can poke the whole squash several times and microwave until the skin is soft, about 3 minutes per pound.  Slice in half and remove seeds when done.

Spread the almonds on a second baking sheet and toast in oven, tossing occasionally, until golden brown, 5-7 minutes.

To make the dressing, stir together the lime juice, honey, cumin, olive oil, salt, and pepper.

With a fork, gently scrape the strands of squash flesh into a bowl and toss with the lime juice mixture.  Sprinkle with almonds and scallions.

Recipe from Real Simple Magazine, October 2011.

Using the Weight Watcher Recipe Builder,  if you divide the recipe into 6 servings, each serving has 2 PointsPlus.  Divide into 4 servings, each has 4 PointsPlus.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
