RSS

english toffee

20 Dec

I baked for 6 hours straight yesterday.  I am slightly worried that I ran my oven too long.  My new oven fan sure did get a breaking in!  Plus I need a calculator to add up all my Weight Watcher Points from the samples I ate.  Peppermint brownies, pina colada biscotti, lower-fat lemon squares, almond butter chocolate chip cookies, sea salt caramels and english toffee.  I’m more sore from baking than I am from my Pilates session that I took earlier in the day!

All in all, a great day.  Wonderful smells from the kitchen, Christmas carols in the living room, and the movie “Elf” on a seemingly never-ending loop in the family room.  Nothing says Christmas like Will Ferrell in tights.

My 13-year-old son helped me make this english toffee.  I had never made it before, but have wanted to make it ever since a friend dropped off some recently as a present. My kids devoured it and have talked about it nonstop since.  It was super easy!  I did the stirring of the molten sugar for my son, just to be safe.

English Toffee

  • 1 cup salted butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup almonds, toasted and finely chopped

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Melt butter, sugar, 2 teaspoons cold water, and salt together on low heat in a saucepan.  Once the sugar is melted, turn heat to medium and stir constantly until the color starts to deepen in color and the temperature on a candy thermometer reads between 300-310 degrees.  Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.

Quickly pour onto parchment lined pan and spread it out with a spatula.

Sprinkle chocolate chips onto the top and let them sit for 1-2 minutes until they begin to melt.  Spread melted chocolate out evenly on top of the toffee.  Sprinkle chopped almonds on top and let toffee cool.  Break into pieces.

Recipe from inthelittleredhouse.blogspot.com

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 20, 2011 in desserts

 

Tags:

One response to “english toffee

  1. Leigh

    December 29, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    Just made my third batch for gifts and a little for us…delicious!

     

Leave a Reply

 
