RSS

winter squash chili

19 Dec

The part for my oven is in and they will be here today to fix it!  And not a minute to soon.   I have orders of baked goods to fill for my husband and Christmas eve dinner to make for the in-laws.  And a bunch of brown bananas to use.  And a new recipe for baked squash I want to try.  And, and, and…..  I feel like a kid in a candy store.

The roaster oven that my friend let me borrow was a life-saver.  More accurately, a gift-saver, since I was able to make and give my granola as Christmas gifts to my family last weekend.  Thanks again Kristina!

So, to continue my reliance on recipes I have had stored up in my queue, here is a recipe for a delicious vegetarian chili.   I saw it in New Mexico Magazine while I was visiting my grandmother in Albuquerque.  I love how the vegetables are roasted in the oven before they are added to the pot on the stove top.  Great flavor!

Winter Squash Chili

  • 1 large butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 russet potato, diced (mine was 11 ounces)
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 1 golden beet, peeled and diced
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 cup red chile powder
  • 2 tsp. oregano
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • water (enough to cover ingredients)
  • salt and pepper to taste
Combine squash, potato, onion, carrots, beets, garlic, olive oil and salt in a large bowl and mix well.  Place on a foil-lined sheet pan.  Bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for 30 minutes or until squash is fork-tender.
Place roasted vegetables in a large soup pot and add remaining ingredients.  Simmer for at least 30 minutes. Season to taste and serve with sour cream or 0% Fage Greek yogurt.  Makes 12 cups.
Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, I calculated the entire recipe as having 51 pts+.
6 servings (2 cups each) = 9 pts+
8 servings (1 1/2 cups each) = 6 pts+
Recipe adapted from New Mexico Magazine.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 19, 2011 in points plus, soups, vegetarian

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
