RSS

banana muffin

15 Dec

My oven needs a new fan.  Well, first it needs to get approved for the new fan, and then the new fan needs to get ordered, and then the repairman needs to come back and install it.  I’ll be lucky to have a working oven by Christmas.

Enter my good friend Kristina.  And if I am continuing my drug references, she is my out of town hook me up who I meet in the stadium parking lot to give me a little somethin’ somethin’.  She did actually meet me in the parking lot, but it was to let me borrow her roaster oven.  Good friend (enabler).

So until I figure out how to use the roaster oven, here’s another recipe that has been waiting in the wings to be published.  So simple, and I love how it only has a half cup sugar for 12 muffins.

Banana Muffins

  • 1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 or 4 ripe bananas, mashed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line a muffin tin with paper liners.

Mix flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder together in a small mixing bowl.

In another mixing bowl, combine melted butter, sugar, bananas, and egg.  Combine wet and dry ingredients together.  Spoon into muffin cups and bake 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Makes 12.

Recipe adapted from Cat Can Cook.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, each muffin has 4 PointsPlus.

**you can add 1/2 cup chopped fresh cranberries to the batter without changing the point value!

**another variation- decrease bananas to 3, and add 2 tablespoons of mini chocolate chips sprinkled on top or mixed into the batter before baking.  Still 4 PointsPlus!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 15, 2011 in baking

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
