RSS

maple butter nut granola

13 Dec

I find myself wandering around the house, filled with unfocused energy.  Frankly, I’ve been grumpy (to which my husband can attest to).  I’ll have a great idea to bake something (cornbread to go with crockpot chili) and start to assemble the ingredients, and then I come to the sinking realization that I can’t make it.  My creative energy is being stifled.

I think I’m addicted to my oven.  And the withdrawl is a bear.

This recipe has been in my queue to post for a while.  (I’m viewing this post as a bit like Nicorette gum.  I just can’t go cold turkey from my baking obsession.  If I can’t do it, I can damn well write about it!)

My husband was requesting a granola with some added fat.  He finds my “no added fat granola” a bit hard on the tooth.  I have made this recipe several times, and it is delicious.  I had been focusing more on recipes that didn’t have butter or nut butters, since I figured they would have less Weight Watcher points.  So imagine my happy surprise, after entering the ingredients into the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, to see that the points in this recipe are the same as my “no added fat” pumpkin granola, blueberry coconut cardamom granola.

 Maple Butter Nut Granola

  •  3 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 up almonds, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1 Tbsp. nut butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. almond extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

In a large mixing bowl, combine oats, seeds, almonds, cinnamon, and salt.  Mix well.

In a small pan melt butter.  Add maple syrup and nut butter and stir to blend.  Remove from heat and add extracts.

Slowly pour wet ingredients oven dry ingredients and stir to coat evenly.

Spread on a rimmed cookie sheet and bake until granola is dry and golden (45 to 60 minutes), stirring every 15 minutes so that it toasts evenly.  Store in an airtight jar.

Makes 8 cups.  Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, each 1/4 cup serving has 4 PointsPlus.

Recipe from Feeding the Whole Family by Cynthia Lair

 
 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
