RSS

crustless pumpkin pie

21 Nov

I am putting together my Thanksgiving menu plan and this pie is on the list.  Since it is crustless and made with Splenda, it only has 2 PointsPlus for 1/8th of the pie!  Although I don’t normally like to cook/bake with artificial sweeteners, there is a time and a place for everything.  I like the phrase “you can have it all, just not all at once” when I’m thinking about Weight Watcher’s and maintaining my goal weight.  A slice of regular pumpkin pie has 11 PointsPlus!  That’s fine, if you are going to have a very light dinner.  But since that is not my plan, I am going to have this for dessert.  It is really good!!  If you are adamant about not using artificial sweeteners, you can substitute sugar (I will increase the points value to 4 per serving).

I added just a few drops of my Fiori di Sicilia extract and the result was out of this world!

Crustless Pumpkin Pie

  • 1 can (15 oz.) pumpkin puree
  • 1 can (12 oz.) evaporated skim milk
  • 3/4 cup egg substitute
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup Splenda, or to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Spray a 9″ pie pan with non-stick spray. 

Combine all ingredients and beat until smooth.  Pour into prepared pan.  Bake at 400 for 15 minutes, then decrease temperature to 325 and bake for 45 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Serves 8.  Each slice has 2 PointsPlus.  Top with non-dairy whipped topping or fat-free Cool Whip (will increase point value).

Recipe from healthdiscovery.net

 
 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
