RSS

quick tortilla soup

03 Nov

I had planned a left-over night, since my husband had a dinner meeting and it was just going to be me and the kids.  Evenings like these are good time to use up the bits of cheese, small bowls of soup, and single serving left-overs I find in the fridge.  My kids call it “pick and snack”, which is what my mom called it growing up.

But Marc emailed me at 4pm to let me know that he wasn’t going to the meeting after all since he is still battling a stubborn head cold and really needed some rest.  I rarely impose “pick and snack” on Marc, especially not when he is going to come home tired and sick.  Luckily I remembered my friend Tammy had given me this recipe yesterday in the school parking lot after school (I love my friends!). Her dad had copied the recipe for her to give to me (I love my friend’s parents!)  A quick chicken tortilla soup, the perfect spin on the traditional chicken noodle soup cold remedy that was needed in our house.

This soup turned out to be just what the doctor ordered 🙂 Absolutely delicious.  The depth of flavors were remarkable, especially since it cooks so quickly.

Thanks Jim!

Quick Tortilla Soup

  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, halved crosswise to form two cutlets
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil, separated
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 1 large onion, cut into medium dice
  • 4 large garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tsp. canned chipotle in adobo, minced (more or less to taste)
  • 2 quarts low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 can (14.5 ounce) diced fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 2 cans (15 ounces each) black beans, undrained
  • tortilla strips

Toppings:  lime wedges, grated cheese, diced avocados, light sour cream or nonfat Greek yogurt, chopped fresh cilantro

Heat a large pot over medium high heat.  In a plastic bag, combine chicken with salt, chili powder, and 1 1/2 tsp. oil to coat.  Add chicken to hot pot; cook, turning once, until well browned.  Transfer to a plate and shred.

Heat remaining tablespoon of oil in the hot empty pot; add onions and saute until softened, 4 to 5 minutes.  Add garlic and peppers and saute one minute  Add chicken broth, tomatoes, and black beans.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium low.  Simmer partially covered for about 5 minutes.  Stir in chicken and turn off heat.

Place tortilla strips in each bowl and ladle hot soup over.  Top as desired.  Makes 10 cups.

Using the Weight Watcher Recipe Builder, each 1 2/3 cup serving has 7 PointsPlus (without tortilla strips or toppings).

15 Baked Tostito Scoops have 3 PointsPlus.

1 ounce of Fage 0% Plain Greek yogurt has 0 PointsPlus.

2 Tbsp. of light sour cream has 1 PointsPlus.

1/4 cup of shredded Monterey Jack cheese has 3 PointsPlus.

1/8th of an avocado has 1 PointsPlus, 1/4th has 2 PointsPlus.

Recipe from Perfect One-Dish Dinners.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2011 in chicken, points plus, soups

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “quick tortilla soup

  1. Denise Martel

    January 29, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    I’m going to try this one soon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
