RSS

today’s menu

27 Oct

I went to a Weight Watcher’s meeting, the first meeting I’ve made since August.  No surprise to me, but I am up 8 lbs. above my goal.  Looking back on the past 2 months, the biggest mistake I made was not making time for my weekly meetings and weigh-ins.  I had maintained my goal weight for a year with tracking and weekly meetings.  Since I don’t weigh myself at home, I didn’t notice when one pound over goal turned into two, three, four……  Plus, I stopped tracking 😦

So I am back on the Weight Watcher’s PointsPlus plan and it feels great!  It really comes down to planning for me.  Planning which meeting to attend, planning my meals for the week and planning my snacks.  All it takes is a few minutes every day to write down in my tracker what I am going to eat and I have set my self up for success.

Here is what I am going to eat today:

Breakfast:  6 oz. Fage 0% Greek yogurt with one cup of mixed berries (frozen, from Costco); black coffee (2 PointsPlus)

Snack:  3 fresh figs (0 PointsPlus); black coffee (0 PointsPlus)

Lunch:  Tomato and Basil Pizza Burger from Morningstar and 1 Orowheat Sandwich thin, lettuce, tomato and onion; Honeycrisp apple; 24 ounces water flavored with CrystalLight Lemonade powder (6 PointsPlus)

Snack:  BlueBran Vitamuffin; one cup 40 calorie vanilla flavored almond milk, steamed with cinnamon (3 PointsPlus)

Dinner:  Vegetable enchilada (1/6th of a 9×13 pan); green salad with balsamic vinegar drizzle; water (7 PointsPlus)

After Dinner:  licorice tea or decaf coffee

Total:  20 PointsPlus

Since I get 29 PointsPlus a day, I still have 9 that I could use if needed.  Some things I have in my house that I could add:

2 Tbsp. popcorn kernels (popped in microwave)  (2 PointsPlus)

1 Light Babybel cheese with 2 Ry Krisp Seasoned crackers (2 PointsPlus)

Kashi TLC Pumpkin Pecan Fruit and Grain Bar (3 PointsPlus)

Kellogg’s Fiber Plus Caramel Coconut Fudge bar (3 PointsPlus)

Kellogg’s Special K strawberry fruit crisps (2 bars= 3 PointsPlus)

🙂

If you are tracking your intake, what’s your meal plan look like?  What kind of snacks and meals are your go-to meals?  I’d love to see your ideas in the comments!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 27, 2011 in meal planning

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “today’s menu

  1. veronicakaip

    October 27, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    Kelly…..I don’t belong to weight watchers, but I did spend over a year counting calories through a website that my doctor 🙂 recommended to me, so I definitely recognize what you’re going through. I’m guessing using a forum like this is great for accountability and communication, but it’s also a great support system, too!!!! 🙂
    I know it’s discouraging to be above your goal weight (I have yet to achieve my goal weight!) 🙂 but I wanted to tell you that you convey such a great (healthy) attitude about food, and I have found it quite fun and inspiring to recreate MANY of the recipes you have listed. (Some of which I have done more than once!)
    We are having family and friends over to our house and will be having a soup bar (among other goodies). Two out of the three soups are from your blog! (The third is the pumpkin turkey chili that you weren’t fond of….did you get the recipe from Fred Meyer, too? I just tweaked and added things that I wanted and we thought it was interesting.)
    So, besides being stunningly beautiful, you’re doing great things….so keep it up!!!!
    Thankful to you……. 😉 Veronica

     

Leave a Reply

 
