RSS

apple cider braised pork loin

24 Oct

Last week was quite a week.  The two highlights were a flat tire on the freeway and dislocating my shoulder (again!)   So I was sore and tired and I didn’t do something that I do every Sunday.  I didn’t make a meal-plan (I can hear the gasps).  Instead of knowing what I was going to cook every evening of the week, I was flying by the seat of my pants, throwing caution to the wind, not knowing what the next day would bring.  It was awful.  But I was too tired/sore to do anything about it!

So when my friend Kristina told me on about a dinner she had made the night before, I told her thank you, you have just helped me decide what to cook tonight.  She had even served the pork with my smashed potatoes on the side.

Apple Cider Braised Pork Loin

  • 1 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 (2 lb.) boneless pork loin
  • 2 medium onions, vertically sliced (about 2 1/2 cups)
  • 4 medium carrots, cut diagonally into 1/4 inch slices (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 2 celery stalks, sliced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp. dried sage, or 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh
  • 1/2 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup apple cider

Heat oil over medium-high heat in a Dutch oven.  Add pork and cook until well-browned on both sides.  Remove to a plate.  Add onions, carrots and celery to pan.  Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes or until onions are tender.  Stir in garlic, sage, thyme, salt, and pepper.

Return pork and any juices to Dutch oven and pour cider over top.  Cover and simmer, basting occasionally, for 1 1/4 hours or until temperature on meat thermometer inserted in middle reaches 150 degrees F.  Remove roast from pan and let rest for 10 minutes.  Slice pork and serve with vegetables and pan sauce.

Using Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, if the entire recipe has 46 PointsPlus.  If you made 8 servings, each serving would have 6 PointsPlus.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 24, 2011 in points plus, pork

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
