RSS

baked cake doughnuts with caramel glaze

06 Oct

Sometimes I try a recipe without thinking it through.  Take these doughnuts, for instance.  Was making homemade doughnuts even on my radar?  No.  Not even close.  In fact, I had recently stumbled upon several food blogs that featured doughnuts and I whizzed right past them.  No real interest.

Fast forward to today.  There’s me, wandering the baking aisle of Michael’s Craft Store, coupon in hand.  50% off one baking item.  Now, I wasn’t truly in the need of a new gadget, but I do love me a good coupon!   I spied a doughnut pan by Wilton and thought, wow, I’d be a rock star to my children if I started making doughnuts at home (because it’s all about the children!)

Now, why did I start this whole conversation with the statement that I didn’t think things through?  Because in my quest to indulge my children with yet another delicious homemade goodie, I forgot that I LOVE doughnuts!  Just ask my mom or my sister about my obsession with the devil dog.  🙂

Long story short, they are super easy to make and only take 8-9 minutes in the oven.  The nutmeg in the batter makes them taste like an old-fashioned doughnut.  Yum!  Luckily my kids liked them as much as I did and they were gone in a jiffy, so I didn’t have to worry about what to do with the left-overs.

And looking at the bright side, they are only 4 Weight Watcher PointsPlus each (without glaze, 6 with)!  So if you do have a craving for a doughnut, they are a better option than the ones in the glass case.

Baked Cake Doughnuts

  • 2 cups cake flour, sifted
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp. butter, melted

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.  Spray doughnut pan with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, sift together cake flour, sugar, baking powder, nutmeg and salt.  Add buttermilk, eggs and melted butter.  Stir just until combined.  Fill each doughnut cup 2/3 full.

Bake 8-9 minutes or until the top of the doughnuts spring back when touched.  Let cool in pan for 4-5 minutes before removing.  Finish doughnuts with desired toppings (glazes, powdered sugar, cinnamon sugar).  Makes 12.

Recipe from Wilton.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, each doughnut (without toppings) has 4 PointsPlus.

Caramel Glaze

  • 4 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2-3/4 cup confectioner’s sugar

In a saucepan over medium heat, stir together butter, brown sugar, heavy cream, and salt.  Bring to a rolling bowl, stir constantly.  Boil for one minutes.  Remove from heat and let cool 5 minutes.  Stir in sifted confectioner’s sugar until you get a thick consistency (somewhere between 1/2 and 3/4 cup).  Stir well to remove any lumps.  Dip tops of doughnuts into the glaze and place on cookie sheet to set.

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, I calculated that it would add 2 PointsPlus to each doughnut (using 1/2 cup powdered sugar).  You would still have some glaze left over.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 6, 2011 in baking, breakfast, desserts, points plus

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “baked cake doughnuts with caramel glaze

  1. Becky

    November 15, 2013 at 6:28 pm

    Recipe so easy to follow! Made mine as cupcakes, added cream cheese icing to centers after cooled and the frosted with chocolate buttercream frosting! Yummy! Love the taste of the doughnuts! Thanks for sharing!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
