RSS

whole wheat pumpkin muffins

03 Oct

I love autumn.  The changing leaves, the crisp air, the sweaters…..the fact that I can use my oven all day long and not worry that my house is getting too hot.

And boy have I been using my oven!  I have made these muffins three times in the last 2 weeks.  The soaking of the currants in Triple Sec is brilliant.  There is also a variation with a cream cheese filling, which I will post soon.

If you’ve seen my shopping cart,  I probably look a little crazy since I’ve been stockpiling canned pumpkin puree.  After last year’s shortage (or dearth, the word my husband thinks I should use) of pumpkin, I’m not going to take a chance of running out this season.

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Muffins

  • 1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup Vanilla Bean sugar
  • 3/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp. cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup dried currants
  • orange liqueur to cover

In a large bowl, stir together dry ingredients.

In a second bowl, beat the egg, water and oil together.  Whisk in the pumpkin.

Combine the wet ingredients with the flour mixture.  Stir just until combined.  Let rest one hour.

Meanwhile, put the currants into a small custard cup.  Add a few tablespoons of orange liqueur and let soak for the hour, stirring occasionally.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease a muffin tin or use 12 muffin cups or silicone liners.  Drain off the liqueur and gently stir currants into the batter.  Fill the muffin cups evenly, smoothing the tops.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Let cool 5 minutes before removing from muffin tin.  Makes 12.

Recipe adapted from Kitchen Parade.  Each muffin has 4 WWpts+.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2011 in baking, points plus, snacks, vegetarian

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “whole wheat pumpkin muffins

  1. Tammy

    October 3, 2011 at 6:56 am

    Great muffin! This muffin has a delicious fall taste. It is light, fluffy and scrumptious. It would be a great thing to give as a gift or bring to the office break room!!!!

     
  2. Missy

    October 5, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    Oh my gosh! I’m eating one just out of the oven, because they smelled so good while they were baking, I couldn’t wait any longer. These are delicious and I can’t wait to share them with friends.

     
  3. kelly.jean.aversa

    October 5, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    I’m so glad you liked them! I think they are one of the best muffins I have ever made (and that is quite a statement!)

     
  4. Beth

    October 7, 2011 at 9:46 am

    These are so good and very easy to make.

     

Leave a Reply

 
