RSS

chicken parmesan

22 Sep

This recipe gave me an “ah ha” and “why didn’t I think of that so I can take the credit” moment.  Gina from skinnytaste.com cut the chicken breasts she used in her chicken parmesan in half the long way so it looks like a chicken breast, just skinnier.  In the past, I’ve always pounded my chicken to an even thickness, resulting in a pancake looking breast (no comments from the peanut gallery).  Tastes good, but doesn’t look like a breast of chicken.  Gina’s way maintains more of the look of the chicken breast at the same time as making an appropriate serving size.

Chicken Parmesan

  • 4 chicken breasts (8 oz. each) sliced in half
  • 3/4 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 tsp. Herbes de Provence
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 Tbsp. melted butter
  • 8 slices tomato
  • 8 basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup part-skim shredded mozzarella
  • 1/2 cup marinara sauce

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Spray a baking sheet with non-stick spray.

Combine breadcrumbs, herbs and grated Parmesan cheese in a shallow bowl.  Brush each side of chicken breast with melted butter.  Coat with breadcrumb mixture and place on baking sheet.  Bake for 20 minutes, flip and bake for 5 more minutes.

Remove from oven.  Top each chicken piece with 1 Tbsp. marinara sauce, 1 tomato slice, 1 basil leaf and 1 Tbsp. shredded mozzarella.  Return to oven and bake 5 minutes.  Makes 8 servings

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, I calculated each serving to have 6 pts+.

Recipe adapted from Gina’s Skinny Recipes.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2011 in chicken, points plus

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “chicken parmesan

  1. Tammy Arnold

    September 27, 2011 at 9:48 am

    I will admit that I am a bad cook, but I tried this dish and felt like Betty Crocker! I honestly had about 8 minutes to prepare the chicken before I had to run out the door to yet another soccer practice. My wonderful daughter Kaitlin did all of the cooking for me. After getting home from a 7:30 – 9:00 soccer practice 😦 I was ready to try it. It turned out great! The only thing I needed was the marinara sauce, which for me would have been Prego. Without the sauce, the chicken was a little dry…but that was my fault. Still a delicious and doable dish!

     
    • kelly.jean.aversa

      September 28, 2011 at 9:40 pm

      I’m so proud of you and Kaitlin! And I don’t think you are a bad cook, I just think you are under-utilized!

       

Leave a Reply

 
