RSS

hummus

20 Sep

I tried making homemade hummus a few years ago with disastrous results.  I used a mini 1 cup food chopper and the beans stayed hard and chunky.  Crestfallen that I was unable to make it from scratch, I abandoned the idea and resigned myself to store-bought hummus.

Recently, my good friend Allison gave me some of her homemade hummus and it was a revelation.  A plate full of unbelievably creamy, garlicy, lemony goodness.  It was everything I had hoped my hummus from years ago would taste like.  She gave me her recipe and a jar of her favorite Lebanese brand of tahini for me to use.  What a friend!

In honor of my new recipe and my hopeful outlook on the results, I bought myself a present:

I am happy to say that I can now make a fantastic homemade hummus!  It freezes well.  My kids have been taking it to school in their lunches all week with pita chips and carrots to dip.

P.S.  My daughter says it is a little bit garlicy.  It will keep away the vampires.  And boys.  And vampire boys.  Personally, I don’t believe in vampires and I already found me a boy, so I have no problem with it.  You can add more or less garlic according to your tastes and dating preferences.

Hummus

  • 4 cans chickpeas (garbanzos)
  • 1 can water
  • fresh lemon to taste
  • minced garlic to taste
  • 1/4 cup tahini paste
  • dash salt

Process all in food processor until silky smooth.  1/4 cup = 4 WW pts+

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2011 in points plus, snacks, vegetarian

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “hummus

  1. Missy

    September 20, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Oh, I can’t wait to try this Paul, and as a Mom that already raised two daughters, I would keep as much garlic in as possible.:-)

     
  2. veronicakaip

    September 21, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Best. Post. Ever…. 😉
    I think I’ll make some, too!!!

     
  3. veronicakaip

    September 28, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    Oh….my…………..gosh. Okay, so I finally got some tahini paste tonight to make this hummus that I’ve been thinking about for days. I’ve never had tahini paste. It looks like peanut butter. Oh, if only you could have seen me in my kitchen trying a big ol’ whoppin’ bite of it. Of course, just as I did, my husband walked in as I was pulling gobs of it out of my mouth….. he found it highly amusing. Then, he makes matters worse by asking me why I didn’t just try a small bite. “BECAUSE IT LOOKS LIKE PEANUT BUTTER!”
    Any other suggestions for my big non-peanut-butter jar?? I can tell you it’s not getting paired with jelly. 😉
    Oh, good hummus, by the way. I have been craving it and now I’ll have to work on portion control. Both my children liked it, too, which is unusual. (My youngest is PICKY!)

     
    • kelly.jean.aversa

      September 28, 2011 at 9:37 pm

      Marc and I had a good chuckle reading your comment! I’ll have to do research on more tahini recipes..I have only used it in hummus. I’m glad your kids liked it. It’s such a great snack.

       
  4. Kristina

    October 3, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    How much garlic did you use?

     
    • kelly.jean.aversa

      October 3, 2011 at 2:25 pm

      I used 4 cloves of garlic. I didn’t think it was too garlicky at all. I’m also going to try a version where I roast the garlic first, then add it to the hummus.

       

Leave a Reply

 
