RSS

kalamata olive spread

12 Sep

I celebrated my blue ribbon with a lunch at the Nordstrom Cafe.  Well, I actually had an hour to kill while I waited for my daughter’s school to get out, but it seemed like the perfect reason to splurge!   The big draw for me is their kalamata olive dip that they serve with their bistro french fries.

The waitress told me it was made with olives, roasted garlic and mayonnaise.  I did momentarily slow my consumption as I mentally calculated the Weight Watcher point plus value of the 1/4 cup of dip I was finishing up.  Notice that I said slow down, not stop. It’s really that good.   I knew I could make something similar at home with a fraction of the points, using my good ol’ friend non-fat Greek yogurt.

Kalamata Olive Spread

  • 40 Kalamata olives, pitted (about a cup)
  • 1/2 cup 0% Fage Greek yogurt
  • 3 garlic cloves, unpeeled
  • 2 tsp. olive oil
Place garlic cloves and olive oil in the middle of a square of aluminum foil and bring up sides to make a little pouch.  Place in a 400 degree oven or toaster oven and roasted for about 20-30 minutes.  Let cool.  Remove garlic skins and place roasted garlic in mini food processor.  Add olives and yogurt.  Process until smooth. Makes 1 cup.
Using the Weight Watchers Recipe Builder, each 1/4 cup serving has 2 pts+. (If I replaced the Greek yogurt with mayonnaise in the Recipe Builder, each serving had 8 pts+!!  yikes)
 
 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
