RSS

PB2 chocolate chip bar cookie

29 Aug

It’s Back to School for my kids this week!  This summer went by far too quickly.  I think it’s because we were waiting all summer long for summer weather to begin, and then once it did we had about 7 days of it before September 1st.

Call me old-fashioned, but I love having something freshly baked waiting on the counter for my kids when they get home from school.  Actually most times I just bring it with me in the car for afterschool pick up.  My youngest son’s first question when he sees me outside his classroom is usually “is there a snack in the car?”

I wanted to use PB2 in baking to see what kind of results I could get.  I really couldn’t be happier with this bar cookie.  Peanut butter and chocolate… what could be better?

A big thank you to my daughter Anna for snapping this great picture!

PB2 Chocolate Chip Bar Cookie

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup PB2 powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 2 ounces chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 8 inch square pan with non-stick spray.

Combine melted butter and brown sugar in a mixer.  Beat well.  Add vanilla and egg. Add remaining dry ingredients and mix well.  Stir in chocolate chips and nuts.  Spread batter into pan.  Bake for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Using Weight Watchers Recipe Builder, if you made 16 servings they would be 5 pts+ each.  12 servings would be 7 pts+ each.  And if you are like me and cut it into 9 servings, they are 9 pts+ each.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2011 in baking, desserts, points plus

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “PB2 chocolate chip bar cookie

  1. Leigh

    August 29, 2011 at 8:46 am

    These sound so good, and I have the PB2 thanks to you! I am making them today!

     
  2. kristina

    August 30, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    These are yummy! I’ve had more than my fair share. Whoops.

     
    • kelly.jean.aversa

      August 30, 2011 at 8:59 pm

      That’s how I ended up with my alternate serving sizes. I had every intention of cutting the pan into 16 pieces!

       
  3. Leigh

    September 1, 2011 at 10:59 am

    These are delicious! I was a little weary of using a hal cup of my precious PB2, however these are worth it. Great peanut butter taste, cheyw like brownies.
    ….I will make these again!

     
  4. Virginia

    June 25, 2013 at 7:23 pm

    I love this recipe! I made it lower and calories and fat by leaving out the nuts and the chocolate chips. I also use 1/2 cup of splenda brown sugar instead of the regular brown sugar. I cut an 8 inch pan into six pieces each is 200 calories.

     

Leave a Reply

 
