RSS

vegetable stock

17 Aug

Three years ago, when my daughter became a vegetarian, I switched to buying vegetable stock instead of chicken stock for soups, etc.  However, I was not happy at all with the taste of the canned vegaetable stock you can buy at the store.  I challenge you to taste it and tell me what vegetable it tastes like!  None that I have ever tried.

I now make my own stock.  It is ridiculously easy.  I just keep a ziplock bag in my vegetable drawer, and when I have bits of carrots, celery or onion that I would normally compost or throw away, I put it in the ziplock.  (Remember, only use vegetables that you would eat!  Don’t save old or spoiled veggies to make your stock.  If you wouldn’t eat it, don’t use it).  This is a great way to use those small, leafy celery greens or the ends of onions.

I’ve seen many recipes that saute the vegetables first in a little olive or vegetable oil.  Personally, I do not.

Vegetable Stock

  • celery, onion, carrot
  • a garlic clove
  • palmful of whole peppercorns
  • 1 Tbsp. salt
  • bay leaf

There are two ways you can make the stock:  in a large pot or a pressure cooker.

Large pot directions: in a large stock pot, fill 1/2 with water.  Add vegetables, peppercorns and salt.  Bring to a boil and simmer, uncovered, for 25 to 30 minutes.

Using a pressure cooker:  place vegetables in pot.  Add water to fill the pot 3/4 full.  Secure lid, bring up to pressure, and cook 20 minutes.  Turn off heat, release pressure.

Strain and discard vegetables.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2011 in vegetarian

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “vegetable stock

  1. veronicakaip

    August 26, 2011 at 12:17 am

    I’ve never used ‘fresh’ stock….how long does it keep and/or do you freeze it???

     
  2. kelly.jean.aversa

    August 26, 2011 at 6:44 am

    I keep it in the refrigerator if I’m going to use it within about 5 days, freeze otherwise. I like to freeze it in 4 cup portions, since that is the amount most of my recipes seem to use. You can also freeze some stock in ice cube trays (once frozen, put them in a ziplock) for recipes that only call for a few tablespoons 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
