RSS

carrot soup

08 Aug

I saw this recipe for carrot soup back in April and thought it sounded like an easy, low WW pt+, nutritious soup to make.  I remembered buying some gorgeous purple carrots at the farmer’s market last summer, and thought I would wait, make the soup with them this year and be blown away by the lovely color and flavor.

The flavor was great!  The color….well, I probably should have checked my color wheel before I made it.  Because these lovely purple carrots are orange inside.  And purple and orange make…brown.

Please note the similarity in color between the soup and my deck. :/  I will definitely make this soup again, using orange carrots.  It really was good, despite the appearance.

Carrot Soup

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 rib celery, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. butter or olive oil
  • 1 lb. carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 1 large potato, skin on, sliced
  • 4 cups vegetable stock (or chicken)
  • 1 tsp. fresh thyme (or 1/2 tsp. dried)
  • 1 tsp. fresh dill (or 1/4 tsp. dried)
  • 2 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups skim milk

In a large soup pot, saute garlic, onion and celery in butter until tender.  Add carrots through pepper.  Bring to a boil and cook until carrots are tender, about 20-30 minutes.

Puree in small batches with a blender, food processor or hand-held immersion mixer.  Return to pan and add milk.

Recipe adapted from Kitchen Parade.

This recipe has 16 WWpts+ for the entire recipe.  Mine made 9 cups, with each cup having 2 WWpts+.

 
 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment