RSS

raspberry pie

01 Aug

This is the perfect summer pie.  Cool, tart, slightly sweet.  Flaky crust.  The recipe comes from my dear grandmother, Mary Lou (if you like it, check out her blueberry pie recipe).  I vividly remember being a young child picking raspberries at her house.  Her raspberries have always tasted extra special to me.  Many years ago, when she sold her house, she gave me a cutting of her berries and I now enjoy a bountiful harvest every year.  I can always tell which berries are from Grandma!

Thank you to my daughter Anna for taking such a great picture of the pie!  🙂

Raspberry Pie

  • 4 cups fresh raspberries
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 4 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1 cup water
  • blind baked single crust, cooled

In a large saucepan, combine 1 1/2 cups raspberries, water, cornstarch and sugar.  Heat until thick and bubbly.  Cool slightly.  Smear a little on the bottom of the pie crust.  Stir in remaining fresh raspberries into cooked mixture.  Pour into pie.  Refrigerate until set.

To blind bake:  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Place the rolled out pie dough in the pie plate and crimp sides as desired.  Refrigerate 40 minutes then freeze 20 minutes.  Line with foil and place pie weights in the middle.  Bake 17 minutes, then remove foil and cook until golden brown.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2011 in baking, desserts, vegetarian

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “raspberry pie

  1. Marc

    August 1, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    This tastes like a summer day. Bright sweet and just a little tart

     
  2. Missy

    August 4, 2011 at 11:10 am

    This was a huge hit last night with my Grandaughter. She’s usually a big chocolate girl, but I talked her into something with fruit.

     
    • kelly.jean.aversa

      August 4, 2011 at 11:45 am

      I make a similar one with blueberries too. I’ll post the recipe next week 🙂

       
  3. veronicakaip

    August 18, 2011 at 9:47 am

    *sigh* Why oh why did I not have access to this when I made my first attempt a couple weeks ago!?!?! 🙂
    It tasted decent….but it looked like soup in a pie shell. We ate it anyway….with a bowl. 🙂 I’ll try again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
