RSS

perfect pie crust

21 Jul

My husband is a pie-man.  Unfortunately, I am a pie, cake, cookie, doughnut, candy-woman (but that’s another story:) ). So I make a lot of pies:  fresh raspberry in the summer, apple in the fall and rhubarb whenever I can get my hands on it, just to name a few.

I have a secret ingredient in my pie dough.  Vodka!  Well, it’s actually Cook’s Illustrated secret ingredient.  This is the most flaky crust you will ever make.  And the fact that it rolls out like playdough makes it all the better.  It really is foolproof!

Perfect Pie Crust

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 12 Tbsp. butter, chilled
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/4 cup ice water
  • 1/4 cup vodka

Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, sugar and salt in a mixer.  Add butter and shortening (for best results, chill butter and use a cheese grater to make small pieces).  Mix until it is pea-sized pieces.  Add remaining cup of flour.  Drizzle in vodka and water and mix just until combined.

Form into 2 balls.  Flatten into a disc, wrap with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Makes one double crust.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2011 in baking, desserts

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “perfect pie crust

  1. Marc

    August 1, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    Yum! I like this crust so much I periodically have to ask Kelly to stop baking pie. I can’t pass it up.

     
  2. veronicakaip

    September 28, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    Hmmm….so, how much does 1/4 cup of vodka equal if one is using a shot glass? Just curious. 😀

     
  3. veronicakaip

    November 23, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    Okay, here we go….I’m making this tonight for our pumpkin pie dessert for Thanksgiving. I even took a swig for good luck as I was baking. I’m not exactly positive that taking a swig equals good luck, but I’m totally going with it. 🙂
    Being the big alcohol drinkers that we are (note: sarcasm), we only had vanilla vodka. I’m not sure how that will change the taste in the end, but I’m looking forward to trying!
    And this was WAY easy to make…I don’t even think I needed to chill it before rolling. Nice. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
