RSS

pasta fagioli

13 Jul

I had the best intentions of making delicious lemon-dill chicken skewers for dinner last night.  But I realized at 4:30 that I forgot to defrost the chicken, and I realized at 4:35 that the chicken tenders that I had found deep, deep in my freezer were a little bit freezer burnt.  And I had 4 hungry kids and 2 hungry adults to feed.  I will admit, a few choice words were uttered.  Do I take my job of feeding my family healthy, well-planned meals too seriously?  Maybe.

I quickly looked through my binder and landed on this recipe for pasta fagioli.  It is a great recipe that can be made with basic staples that are hopefully always in your kitchen….onions, celery, carrots, beans, tomatoes.  It was on the table in 45 minutes and nobody was the wiser 🙂

Pasta Fagioli

  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 3 stalks celery, diced
  • 1 can (15 oz.) cannellini beans
  • 28 ounce can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh basil, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. parsley, chopped
  • 1 tsp. oregano, chopped
  • 28 ounces vegetable or chicken broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 cups Ditalini pasta (or other small shape, I used orzo)
  • parmesan rind
  • optional:  a couple handfuls of dark greens, such as collard or swiss chard, cut into thin strips

In a large pot, saute onions and garlic in olive oil over medium heat.

Blend the beans with one cup water in blender until almost smooth.  Add beans, tomatoes, celery, carrots, broth, basil, bay leaf, parsley, oregano, parmesan rind, salt and pepper.  Add 1 cup water and bring to boil.  Reduce heat and let simmer for 20 minutes.  Stir occasionally.  Add pasta and greens, if using, and cook until pasta is al dente.

Adapted from Gina’s Skinny Recipes.  Using Weight Watchers Recipe Builder, I calculated that this entire recipe has 35 pts+.  The recipe makes about 10 cups, with each 2 cup serving having 7 WWpts+.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2011 in pasta, points plus, soups, vegetarian

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “pasta fagioli

  1. Beth Aversa

    January 25, 2012 at 8:04 am

    We are having pasta e fagioli tonight for dinner. I’m going to be sure to try this recipe as it looks quite flavorful.

     
  2. Beth Aversa

    January 26, 2012 at 7:16 am

    I made the soup last night. It went together quickly and was a filling and tasty dinner. Frankly, I think this recipe is better than my Italian mother-in-law’s version, God rest her soul.

     
  3. Marisa

    March 4, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    Made this soup for my family yesterday. My husband says he likes this even better than minestrone, which is high praise. I love how the herbs make the whole soup so fresh tasting. And I like that it is thicker than minestrone. I love broths soups, but have a hard time getting my toddler and baby to eat them. But because this soup is thicker, she doesn’t realize it is soup. And it is packed full of nutrients and veggies. It was easy to make, even with a cranky baby on my back. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
