RSS

artichoke and goat cheese strata

04 Jul

I will freely admit that although I love breakfast foods, I eat the same thing every morning.  Fage 0% Greek yogurt, berries, one tablespoon of wheat germ and one tablespoon of ground flax seed.  It’s 4 WWpts+, has a lot of protein and I know it will keep me satisfied until lunch.

That is why I like to make breakfast dishes for dinner.  The kids think its fun and I can enjoy the occassional waffle or pancake since I save more points for dinner.

This is a recipe I spotted in a recent Cooking Light Magazine.  It has flavors that my kids love…goat cheese and artichoke hearts, so I thought I would give it a try.   It was a hit with the family!  My 10 year old commented that “it isn’t pretty, but it’s delicious!”

Artichoke and Goat Cheese Strata

  • 1 tsp. Olive oil
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1 (10 oz) package frozen artichoke hearts
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 tsp. Herbes de Province
  • 1 3/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 tsp. Freshly ground pepper
  •  1/4 tsp. Salt
  • 4 eggs, or 1 cup egg substitute
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 lb. Country-style loaf of bread (I used Pugliese), cut into 1-inch cubes (about 5 cups)
  • Non-stick spray
  • 3 ounces crumbled goat cheese, divided

Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium heat.  Add olive oil and onions and cook for 2 minutes, stirring frequently.  Stir in artichoke hearts and garlic.  Cook for 8 minutes or until artichoke hearts start to brown.  Remove from heat and stir in herbes de Provence.  Cool 10 minutes.

Combine milk, salt, pepper and eggs in a large bowl.  Add Parmesan cheese and bread cubes, toss to combine.  Stir in artichoke mixture and let stand for 20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Coat an 8-inch square glass dish or casserole dish with non-stick spray.  Place half of the bread mixture into dish.  Sprinkle with half of the goat cheese.  Top with remaining bread and sprinkle remaining goat cheese on top.  Bake for 50 minutes or until browned and bubbly.

Serves 6.  Each serving is 7 WWpts+

 
 

2 responses to “artichoke and goat cheese strata

  1. Allison

    July 14, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    I loved this recipe. It even is good cold the next day. I used the double fiber wheat muffins for the bread to reduce points and add fiber. YUM

     
  2. brooke

    October 28, 2014 at 3:27 pm

    This was delish! I added green onions and chopped mushrooms and subbed cheddar for the parm. Used whole grain bread. Will make again!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
