RSS

whole wheat blueberry muffins

28 Jun

I’m not cooking dinner tonight because it’s our 19th anniversary and we will be going to our favorite sushi restaurant!  Apparently the traditional gift for 19 is freon, since we are getting the air conditioning in our minivan repaired today (boy, did Marc get off easy this year!)   Although our current weather doesn’t really necessitate a/c, our trip to Lake Chelan in a few days does.  We did it last year without, and vowed not to do it again!  Happy Anniversary Sweetie!

So I decided to try a new baking recipe, now that my restriction is off from desserts and baked goods.  I read this recipe a few months ago at skinnytaste.com and filed it in my “baking-to-do list” (yes, I have one!).  I’ve been looking for some yummy, lower point baked goods recipes to sprinkle in among my higher calorie recipes.  I need to be able to fit into my new, smaller-sized wardrobe!  That can be hard when you have fresh-baked goods in the house most days of the week!

These definitely taste whole wheat-y and are denser than other muffins I’ve made, They are a good option for a homemade muffin with relatively low Weight Watcher points.  But the best blueberry muffin recipe is still Cook’s Illustrated version (click here for my previous post).  I’ve never calculated the WW points, so I’ll have to steady my nerves, face reality and calculate.  I’ll update the post when I do 🙂

Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins

Preheat oven to 325 degrees and line muffin tins with paper liners.

In a medium bowl, mix together applesauce, melted butter, vanilla and egg.

In a separate bowl, combine pastry flour, sugar, baking soda and salt.  Add flour mixture to wet mixture and stir until just blended.  Gently fold in blueberries.

Place batter in muffin cup and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Cool for 10 minutes.  Makes 12.

Adapted from Gina’s Skinny Recipes

Gina calculated that each muffin has 4 WWpts+

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 28, 2011 in baking, points plus

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
