RSS

greek chicken kebabs with mint-feta sauce

24 Jun

The BBQ has been calling my name, and finally I didn’t need an umbrella to use it!

These kebabs have a very simple marinade.  The fresh oregano really gives the chicken and veggies a great flavor.  Add in the mint-feta sauce and it is a crazy good dinner!

Even though a mixed skewer of meat and veggies looks great, I’ve had better grilling success when I keep one ingredient on a skewer.  That way I don’t overcook one ingredient, while waiting for the others to finish cooking.

I’ve also learned that I have a bad habit of leaving my camera “on” after I download pictures to my computer.  I might have to get a spare battery just so I can rotate them after I find the current one drained of all power.  So these are from my phone…

Greek Chicken Kebabs

  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken (I used tenders, but you could also use chicken breasts or thighs), cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 3 small zucchini, cut crosswise
  • 1/2 red onion, quartered lengthwise and layers separated
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh oregano leaves, or 1 tsp. dried
  • 3 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper

In a plastic bag, combine all ingredients.  Marinate for at least 30 minutes.  Thread chicken, zucchini, and onion onto skewers.

Heat grill to medium. and lightly oil the grates (hold a small kitchen towel with tongs, dip into a little vegetable oil, and rub onto grates.

Grill skewers, turning occasionally, until chicken is cooked through and vegetables are tender, 10-15 minutes.

Serve with mint-feta sauce.

Using the Weight Watchers Recipe Builder, each serving is 5 WWpts+.  This assumes that you the entire marinade, when actually you will have some left over.  But I would still count it as 5.

Mint-Feta Sauce

  • 2 ounces crumbled Feta (I used Black Sheep Creamery’s fresh Feta)
  • 1/2 cup 0% Fage plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup packed mint leaves
  • 1 Tbsp. red wine vinegar

Blend feta, yogurt, mint, and vinegar in a food processor until smooth.  This entire recipe has 4 WWpts+

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 24, 2011 in chicken, points plus

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “greek chicken kebabs with mint-feta sauce

  1. Tammy Arnold

    June 25, 2011 at 6:53 am

    Kelly,
    Thank you for giving us such creative, delicious,and interesting ideas to feed our families. With your help, my children may soon find out there is more out there to eat then chicken nuggets, hot dogs, and mac n cheese.

     

Leave a Reply

 
