RSS

pita bread

15 Jun

My wonderful friend Allison made some of her famous homemade humus and luckily shared some with me.   To quote my daughter, “this is the best humus I have ever had.  Tell her I love her!”  I have to agree.  I have tried to make humus before and ended up with a grainy mess that didn’t resemble anything good or tasty.  Allison’s is delicious, creamy and smooth, and I have asked for her recipe.  I will share it as soon as I get it!  I do know it is Weight Watcher Friendly, at 2 pts+ per 1/4 cup.

Naturally, I figured the best way to showcase the dip was to try my hand at homemade pita bread!

The pita bread were very easy to make, however for full disclosure I will admit that not all of them puffed up entirely.  I’ve been researching other recipes and I will try those out in the next week or so.  I’ll let you know if I make any improvements.

Using the Weight Watchers Recipe Builder, I calculated that each pita is 5 pts+ (figuring the recipe makes 16 pita).

Pita Bread

  • 1 tsp. active dry yeast
  • 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (or white whole wheat)
  • 2 1/2 cups water (80 -90 degrees F)
  • 1 Tbsp. salt
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 1/2 to 3 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

Stir the yeast and water together in a mixing bowl.  Add whole wheat flour and stir until the mixture looks smooth and silky.  Cover with plastic wrap and let rest between 30 minutes and 8 hours (the longer the rest, the fuller the flavor of the pita).

After resting, sprinkle the salt and oil on dough, mix well.  Using a dough hook, mix in remaining flour, one cup at a time.  Knead until the dough is smooth, elastic and moderately firm.  Spray a clean bowl with non-stick olive oil spray, place dough inside and spray top of dough.  Cover tightly with plastic wrap and let rise at room temperature for 2 to 3 hours, or until double.

Place a baking stone in the oven and heat to 450 degrees.

Knead dough briefly to deflate.  Divide in half and keep one half under plastic.  Cut the dough into 8 equal pieces and with floured hands, shape each piece into tight balls.  Place balls under plastic wrap while forming the rest.  On a well-floured surface, flatten the balls of dough with your hand and then, using a rolling-pin, roll each piece of dough into a circle 8 to 9 inches in diameter and less than 1/4 inch thick.

Place as many rolled-out breads that will fit onto your preheated baking stone.  Bake for 3 to 5 minutes, or until the breads resemble well-blown up balloons.  When they come out of the oven, wrap them in a kitchen towel.

Adapted from Baking with Julia

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 15, 2011 in baking, points plus

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
