RSS

beets

29 Apr

One of our challenges this week from the Weight Watchers Weekly was to try five new foods that you haven’t tried before.  To be honest, there is not many to come to mind that I haven’t tried.

Then I came across this post on A Veggie Venture and realized that I had found my new food….beet greens!  Beets have been a relatively new discovery for me.  My sister had raved about a beet salad she recently had at a restaurant, so the next time I saw it on a menu,I ordered it.  I have fallen in love!  But I have never had the beet greens.

Since my family is no stranger to greens,  I was intrigued and not the least bit intimidated to give these a try.

A Veggie Venture does a great job in explaining the steps to cooking the greens.  It’s very simple:  rinse well, separate the greens from the stem and dice them into 1/2″ pieces.  Boil the stems in salted water for 2 minutes, take them out.  Boil the greens until tender, about 3 minutes.  Drain.

I roasted the beets ( in a covered pot at 375 for an hour.  Cool and peel.  Gaze at your purple stained fingers (a badge of nutrition, for sure) proudly!  I put the beets and greens in the refrigerator over night.

Today I combined 2 sliced beets, the cold greens and 1 Tbsp. crumbled feta.  I drizzled a good balsamic vinegar over the salad and added fresh ground pepper.  A wonderful, filling salad!  If you input the ingredients into the Weight Watchers Recipe Builder, the salad would be 4 WW pts+.  If you input each ingredient separately into your tracker, it would be 1 WW pts+ (for the feta).

Delicious!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2011 in points plus, vegetarian

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “beets

  1. Beth

    April 29, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    These look delicious. I’ll have to try this recipe after the next time I shop. I love beet salads.

     

Leave a Reply

 
