RSS

black bean and sweet potato burritos

26 Apr

I wish I could remember which magazine I found this recipe in.  I know I was in the dentist’s office, waiting for my child to appear with gleaming teeth.  Since I love sweet potatoes and black beans, it caught my eye and I quickly scribbled it on the back of a scrap piece of paper.

My 15 year-old daughter has been a vegetarian for 3 years, so I am always on the look-out for yummy vegetarian meals that would appeal to her.  She gave this dinner a thumbs up!

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Burritos

  • 4 oz. sweet potato, chopped into small dice
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 cup black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 tsp. olive oil

optional:  salsa, lettuce, cilantro, tomatoes, nonfat greek yogurt

Saute onion, garlic, sweet potato and cumin in olive oil for 15 minutes, until potatoes are tender and slightly browned.  Add black beans and cook for 5 minutes.  5 WW pts+

Serve in tortilla with optional add-ons.

I made this using a La Tortilla Factory Smart and Delicious Wrap (3 WW pts+) and added lettuce, chopped tomato, a Tbsp. of Fage 0% greek yogurt and a splash of Siriacha Hot Sauce for a total of 8 pts+.  Delicious!

p.s. this burrito was my husbands, so there is added avocado


 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2011 in points plus, vegetarian

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “black bean and sweet potato burritos

  1. Christine

    April 26, 2011 at 10:50 am

    I saw it too and thought it sounded good! Glad you wrote it down, I’ll have to try it.

     
    • kelly.jean.aversa

      April 26, 2011 at 11:09 am

      It would be a great way to introduce a new filling to your regular taco/burrito night. Make a serving of this along side your regular meat and beans. You might get someone to try it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
