RSS

chocolate-dipped peppermint marshmallows

15 Nov

I don’t do Facebook.  There, I said it.

If it had come into existence earlier in my life, I probably would have embraced it.  Not sure how much different this is from Facebook posting, but I do include a nice little recipe.   And lately, you can see how often I even want/find the time to do that (sorry Mom!  I’ll try to post more often).

That being said, I do have a Facebook account for the sole purpose of staying connected with my super good friend Tammy.  Tammy and her family moved a year and a half ago to Paris (sounds like The Life, but she assures me that after a while, it just seems like Puyallup)  I signed up for an account just so I can view the photos of their life and adventures.  Jet-setting to Belgium, Italy and England for kids soccer games….yah, that seems like Puyallup :)  I don’t post, I just look at her pictures, so it’s a little like peeking into her Parisian window.

It was on her Facebook account that I saw this little treat from Baking Hot Christmas.  So cute and easy!  I think it would be a nice school Christmas party hand-out for classmates, packaged in clear bags with a cute ribbon and stapled to a packet of hot cocoa.  Enjoy!

peppermintmarsh1

peppermintmarsh2

Chocolate-Dipped Peppermint Marshmallows

  • mini candy canes
  • regular sized candy canes
  • large marshmallows (not Jumbo)
  • chocolate chips (any kind, I used dark chocolate)
  • shortening

Crush large candy canes into very small pieces.  If they are too large, they won’t stick to the chocolate.  Insert one mini candy cane into a marshmallow.  In a small bowl, combine about a half a bag of chocolate chips and spoon a teaspoon of shortening on top.  Microwave on 50% for increments of one minute, stirring each time, until melted.  Dip marshmallow into chocolate and wipe bottom across side of bowl (to prevent puddling when they cool).  Sprinkle candy cane chips/powder onto chocolate sides.  Place on Silpat lined baking sheet.  The chocolate will harden when cool.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 15, 2013 in Beverage, desserts, snacks

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “chocolate-dipped peppermint marshmallows

  1. Christine

    November 15, 2013 at 11:51 am

    Sooo, I should expect a couple of wrapped goodies to come home with Allison?? I was just thinking about the Arnolds the other day. I can’t believe it’s been over a year already! Yeah, really sounds like Puyallup! I want to go to a soccer game in Belgium!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

