RSS

pumpkin cranberry bread

12 Nov

I am in my happy place when I walk into the grocery store and see the stacks of Ocean Spray cranberry bags in the produce section. I don’t understand why we can’t get frozen cranberries year-round!? Well this year, I will be shopping in my freezer until next November when the cranberries are back…I’ve already frozen a dozen bags :)

I will probably add more cranberries to the next batch I make.  I loved the tart bursts of flavor!

cranpumpbread2

Pumpkin Cranberry Bread

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 3 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 can (15 ounces) LIBBY’S® 100% Pure Pumpkin
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1 cup chopped, frozen cranberries (I use a cuisinart to chop the frozen berries.  You could always use whole or thaw and then chop)

Preheat oven to 350° F. Coat two 9 x 5-inch loaf pans with baking cooking spray.

Combine flours, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda and salt in large bowl. In a stand mixer, combine sugar, pumpkin, eggs, oil and juice. Beat on low until blended. Add pumpkin mixture to flour mixture; stir just until moistened. Fold in cranberries. Divide into the two pans and smooth tops.

Bake for 60 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pans on wire racks for 10 minutes; remove from pans to cool completely.

Recipe makes two loaves.

Recipe slightly adapted from meals.com

Using the Weight Watcher Recipe Builder, my friend Kristina calculated that each slice (12 slices per loaf) has 6 Points Plus per slice.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2013 in baking, points plus, snacks, vegetarian

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “pumpkin cranberry bread

  1. Cate @ Chez CateyLou

    November 12, 2013 at 6:48 pm

    This bread looks delicious, and the cranberries make it so pretty! Great idea to stock up on cranberries while you can!

     
  2. veronicakaip

    November 12, 2013 at 7:08 pm

    Um. I would like to thank you for this delicious bread….and I would post an “after” picture, but let’s just say I didn’t have a knife or fork (or plate for that matter) on the ride home from your house. :) It was pretty and yummy and who could wait the couple miles before I was home??!!!?
    MMmmmmm……so gooood……. :)

     
    • kelly@dailyhomemade

      November 12, 2013 at 7:10 pm

      I’m glad you liked it :-) Now I need to run ten miles so I can eat a whole mini loaf!

       
  3. veronicakaip

    November 13, 2013 at 11:16 pm

    Well, for the record, I didn’t eat the WHOLE mini loaf myself….I was thoughtful enough to share with my family.
    They did wonder why it looked attacked from the top, however.
    What? It was good! :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

