RSS

fig and anise biscotti

13 Oct

What happened to the month of September?!  And half of October?!   It blew right on by.

The Washington State Fair was earlier last month, and this year I thought I’d try something different….only enter one contest! Last year’s six entries left me and my family a little crazy. So I pared it down and picked one. As the reigning blue ribbon winner two years running, I decided to try to keep the streak alive with a fig and anise biscotti.

The blue ribbon was not mine to be had this year, but I did win a white ribbon (third place). So now I have two blues, one red and one white ribbon in the biscotti contest. is it time to put my cookie sheet away? Only time will tell…. :)

20130906_101709

Fig and Anise Biscotti

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp. anise extract
  • 1 Tbsp. anise seeds
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Vanilla Bean Sea salt from SaltWorks
  • 1 cup chopped dried figs soaked in 2 Tbsp. Port wine
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened finely shredded coconut (I used Bob’s Red Mill)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line 2 baking sheets with Silpat silicone mats.

Cream butter and sugar in a stand mixer until light.  Add anise extract and eggs, one at a time..  Mix together flour, baking powder, anise seeds and salt in separate bowl.  Add to wet ingredients.  Stir in figs (drain if any Port remains) and coconut

Spoon batter onto silicone mats in 2 strips, 10 ” long x 2 ” wide.

Bake for 20 minutes until golden.  Remove from oven and cool 30 minutes on a rack.  Cut loaves diagonally in 1/2″ slices.  Return to baking sheet.  Bake 10-14 minutes.  Cool.  Store in airtight container.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2013 in baking, desserts

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “fig and anise biscotti

  1. Tammy

    October 13, 2013 at 9:10 am

    You can NEVER put your cookie sheets away!!! The world would stop revolving!! I miss you and your wonderful samples!!! :)

     
  2. Eric Lewis

    October 13, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    Well lets not put it away for long…I sure could use some cookies or anything sweet you make.
    Eric

     
  3. veronicakaip

    October 13, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    Uh. No. Cookie sheets stay out.
    And PS, this was DELICIOUS!!! You have completely mastered finding great ingredient combinations. Yum!!! (If you need taste testers for next year -or throughout the year, why wait- just call, I’m here for you…) :P

     
  4. Mary Lou McKibben

    October 14, 2013 at 8:35 am

    The biscotti sound delicious. I love figs and also anise. I sent a Reply, but never know if I do it right.. Ialso wrote that I wished I could make some, hint, hint. Don’t give up. After all you did win an award. Maybe they decided to give first to someone else since you had won twice in a row. That happened to me once with my Halloween costume. I kept winning so they gave it to someone who wasn’t half as creative as I. I was when I dressed like The Shrunken Chef. This yearMartie’s daughter Judy who sellsAvon products bought me a witches hat that sings!! She said when she saw it in the catalog she immediately thought of me. It is orange with black tracings all over it. Batteries inside and a button on the brim to punch to make it play ghostly music. I couldn’t find a real witch full mask but found a ghostly white face with black trimmings around the eyes, the mouth wide open up in a scream shape, and a sort of soft fabric cap effect on the head and down the back to cover the hair. I have a black top, pants, and my black velvet cape which I wore a couple times before.. black gloves, so I will be all covered up, and stoop a little and make clalwing gestures. The only person who will know who I am will be Martie. The management and employees are all going to be dressed in Wizard of Oz costumes. I hope a few others get into the act. There are so many people now who are incapable or disinterested. We shall see. Temp. down into the 60’s forecast for this week, quite a change, but feels good after so much hot weather. We did get some good rain last month which sure helped here. My love to all. Grandma

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

