RSS

grilled peaches with cinnamon yogurt and honey

25 Aug

I love zombies!!

I anxiously await Monday mornings so I can pay Amazon $1.99 to watch the previous nights episode of “The Walking Dead” (we don’t have cable t.v. :( ) I’m such a great fan, I’ve even read the graphic novel as well (Thanks Bill!).  I am also becoming quiet good (in the 43-year-old mom sense) at Call of Duty 2:  Black Ops Zombies.  Love it, love it, love it!!

So it was very exciting to watch Marc and Anna participate in the Run For Your Lives 5K yesterday.  The course was filled with slow and fast-moving zombies trying to capture the flags around their waist.  The runners had a great time dressing up for the occasion.  Marc decided to go with a “caught at work during the apocalypse, so now I’m forced to wear a tie around my head” and Anna went with a shirt that said “Chicks with Brains”.  They sprinted, dodged, crawled and swam their way to the finish line.

After watching part of the race, and hearing the screams and moans, I’ve decided that zombies should stay in books, t.v. and video games.  My pulse was way out of my comfort zone and I wasn’t even running the race!

zombie1

zombie2

Here’s a quick dessert that you could cook over any smoldering post-apocalyptic wreckage :)  We used our gas grill.

roastedpeaches

Grilled Peaches with Cinnamon Yogurt and Honey

  • 4 ripe peaches, halved
  • 1/2 cup 0% Fage Greek yogurt
  • 4 Tbsp. honey
  • cinnamon to taste

Place peaches cut side down on a preheated grill (medium heat).  Cook each side 4-5 minutes.

Combine yogurt and cinnamon in a small bowl.  Top each peach with a tablespoon of yogurt and drizzle with a half of tablespoon of honey.  Serves 4.

Recipe very slightly adapted from Skinnytaste.com.

Using the Weight Watcher Recipe Builder, each serving has 4 Points Plus.

For my grandpa:  skinnytaste listed each serving as having 31.7 gms carbs and 2.2 gms fiber.  She used fat-free honey flavored Greek yogurt, I used plain.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 25, 2013 in desserts, points plus, vegetarian

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “grilled peaches with cinnamon yogurt and honey

  1. Alan Gunsul

    August 26, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    Wow Kelly sounds great but that is over one third of my allowable carbs per day. I may try using artificial sweetener instead of honey and my own home made greek style yogurt. Will let you know how it turns our. Grandpa Alan

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

