RSS

italian-style goat cheese-stuffed mushrooms

20 Apr

I’ve watched a few episodes of “Hoarders” recently, and as a result, I have cleaned out a few of my cupboards.  Now, I am pretty much the opposite of a hoarder.  In fact, I’ve been known to throw away receipts as soon as I get home, only to realize that I need to return an item and I have to dig through the trash to find it.  This has happened too many times to count.  You’d think I would have learned my lesson after the first time I found the damp, coffee-ground coated receipt in the bottom of the third bag of garbage I had gone through.  Gross, but apparently not gross enough, since I haven’t changed my ways.

I found this cookbook during my cleaning/organizing spree.  Weight Watchers Five Ingredient 15 Minute Recipes.  I’ve paged through it and bookmarked a handful of recipes I want to try.  Since I’ve never made stuffed mushrooms before, this recipe was the first on my list.  My kids couldn’t get enough of them.  And only 1 PointPlus for 2 mushrooms!

Italian-style Goat Cheese-stuffed Mushrooms

  • 18 large button mushrooms
  • olive oil cooking spray
  • 2 ounces goat cheese
  • 2 Tbsp. seasoned breadcrumbs
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped drained oil-packed sun-dried tomato halves
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped fresh basil

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Remove stems from mushrooms and discard or save for another use.  Brush mushrooms off with a damp paper towel to clean.  Place caps on a large baking sheet, rounded sides up.  Spray with cooking spray, then turn over.

Combine goat cheese, breadcrumbs, tomatoes, and basil.  Spoon about 1 tablespoon filling into each mushroom cap; gently press filling into cap.  Bake for 15-17 minutes or until mushrooms are tender and filling is lightly browned.  Serve warm.  9 servings (serving size: 2 mushrooms).  PointsPlus value per serving: 1.

Recipe from Weight Watchers Five Ingredient 15 Minute Recipes.

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “italian-style goat cheese-stuffed mushrooms

  1. Shannon.Kennedy

    May 11, 2012 at 11:25 am

    These sound delicious. I will make them for my mom on mother’s day.

     
  2. Magen

    May 15, 2012 at 8:43 am

    I had these on Mother’s Day and they are winners. So creamy and flavorful. Mine were made without the breadcrumbs (gluten free) and I can’t imagine them being any better.

     
  3. Kristina

    June 4, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    I made these for a graduation party and they were a big hit! Lots of compliments. Thanks for another good recipe, and the cupcake stand.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

