RSS

irish oatmeal leek soup

14 Mar

St. Patrick’s Day is fast approaching, which means a girl named Kelly Jean is pretty much required to cook something Irish!  I’ve been looking for something other than the standard corned beef and cabbage dinner and came across a soup called Brotchán Roy.  Made from leeks and steel-cut oatmeal, it is thought to have been a stable for the ancient Irish culture. 

Well, I feel like I found a four-leaf clover with this recipe!  Everyone cleaned their bowls and my husband scraped the last bits out of the pot on the stove.  This truly tasted like comfort food.  And a bowl of comfort for only 4 PointsPlus to boot.  The texture of the steel-cut oats had just enough “tooth” to give it a good mouth feel.  And I just love the fact that my kids can now say they have had oatmeal soup (check that off the culinary bucket list :) )

I think my soup turned out more yellow than others I have seen because of the brand of vegetable broth I used (the broth was very yellow coming out of the box.  I know, I usually make my own broth, but I didn’t have any in the refrigerator).  Most other oatmeal leek soups looked much more pale and cream-colored.

Irish Oatmeal Leek Soup

  • 1 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 3 leeks, white and light green parts only, halved and sliced thinly
  • 1 1/2 cups skim milk
  • 4 cups vegetable stock (or chicken)
  • 1/2 cups steel-cut oatmeal
  • fresh ground pepper

In a soup pot, melt butter over medium-low heat.  Add sliced leeks, turn heat to low, and saute for 10-15 minutes or until soft.  Add broth and milk.  Turn heat to high and bring to boil.  Add oatmeal and a few grindings of pepper and return to boil.  Cover, turn heat down to low and cook until oats are tender, stirring occasionally, about 45 minutes.  Serves 4.

Recipe from skinnytaste.com.  Based on her calculations, each 1 1/4 cup serving has 4 PointsPlus.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2012 in points plus, soups, vegetarian

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “irish oatmeal leek soup

  1. GAversa

    March 16, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    Looks great, even the color. That’s what I am going to have tonight!

     
  2. Beth Aversa

    March 16, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    This is a delicious soup. My beloved husband made the soup since I was out at a quilt show all day. It really tasted wonderful and was filling too. This definitely can be served again. I think I’m connecting with my Irish grandmother. Though that would not be with her cooking. We were always glad that she didn’t teach my Mom to cook.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

