RSS

southwest chipotle quinoa salad

26 Aug

I’ve had this recipe in my “to-do” folder for a while, but to be honest the chipotle powder it called for had me hesitating.  I haven’t been a fan of chipotle. Whenever recipes call for chipotles in adobo, I alway add about 1/10 of what the recipe lists, and even then feel like it is overpowering.  But I wondered about chipotle powder, and if the flavor profile would be different.

I’m so glad I made it!  The chipotle powder lends a pleasant smoky heat to the salad.  Add the tart lime, sweet corn, and creamy beans and you have a winner!  Winner, winner, chicken dinner! (I served it with Al Fresco’s chicken sausage for the meat eaters in our family).  The salad alone is a great complete protein dish for my vegetarian.

The red quinoa really made this salad visually “pop”.  I found the quinoa in the bulk food section of Fred Meyer’s and at Tacoma Boys.

For more salads featuring quinoa, check out my previous posts:  Quinoa and Black Bean Salad and Asian Inpired Quinoa Salad.

Southwest Chipotle Quinoa Salad

  • 2 cups vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 Tbsp. Olive oil
  • 1/8 cup red wine vinegar
  • Zest and juice from one lime
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. chipotle powder
  • 1 can (15 oz.) black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 1/2 cups corn
  • 1 red pepper, sliced
  • 1/2 cup minced red onion
  • Handful cilantro, chopped

Rinse quinoa with water.  Place broth and quinoa in a saucepan over medium-high heat.  Cook at a low boil for 15-20 minutes.  turn off heat, cover with lid and let sit until ready to use.

To make dressing:  combine olive oil, red wine vinegar, lime zest and juice, cumin and chipotle powder.

Toss cooked quinoa with dressing and remaining ingredients.  Stir to combine.  Serve warm or cold

Using the Weight Watcher’s Recipe Builder, the entire recipe has 35 pts+.  I keep forgetting to measure the entire recipe after I make it to see how many cups are in it (I get too excited to give it a try).  If you divided the salad into 6 servings, each would have 6 pts+.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

